Elizabeth and I watched Hotel Rwanda Friday night, and I haven’t been able to get it out of my head since. I just can’t fathom how 800,000 people can be killed in the span of about one hundred days while the whole world watches and does nothing. And I don’t remember ever hearing about it either. Which I guess isn’t surprising, since the United States and the UN’s “non-intervention” is a supreme embarrassment. I also wonder, if I had heard about it, would that have made a difference? It’s like one of the quotes in the movie spoken by one of the reporters who was forced to leave when it got too dangerous: people hear of news like this, say, “That’s horrible,” and then go back to eating their dinners.

And despite the resolve of nations around the world never to allow such atrocities to happen again, planned, strategic genocide is taking place right this minute in the Darfur region of Sudan. Genocide that has persisted for two years, leaving an estimated 250,000 Sudanese dead, maybe more. As I read numbers like these or watch a movie that reveals the horrible depravity of the human race, I am overwhelmed. Why have I not known about this? Why have I not informed myself? What can I do? Can I do anything? How God must grieve as He watches our selfishness, our apathy. How His heart must ache to see the very people He lovingly created killing each other.

All of these thoughts have plagued me, and I still have no answers. But I know I can start by informing you all of this crime against humanity, to urge you to inform yourselves of this situation by visiting http://www.savedarfur.org/ and seeking out other ways to help. I know that as a Christian it is my responsibility to love and care about the poor and the oppressed, the orphans and the widows. If we don’t, who will?

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

