Yesterday I visited a new church, and even though I was almost thirty minutes late for the service because even though the website said 11 they were having a special 10:30 service, I really enjoyed it. The pastor spoke out of Acts 2:41-47, which is a picture of the early church. He talked about the importance of community and being involved in a church family, but one other thing he said stuck out at me the most. He was talking about fellowship and how it encourages believers to grow in the Lord in a way that doesn’t happen when you aren’t involved with a church body, and he said, “You’re as close to God as you choose to be.”

A simple idea, but I’ve been pondering it all day. Do I feel close to God? If not, why not? He certainly hasn’t moved. He’s without, within, everywhere all at once. The problem is with me. I’m selfish–in the morning when my alarm goes off I’d rather sleep for ten more minutes than get up and spend some time with Him. If I need someone to talk to, God isn’t always the first person I turn to. And I wonder at the distance I feel! Does it not say in James to draw near to God and He will draw near to me? All I need do is stop in the midst of my hectic day, silence the noise, and call to Him with little more than a whispered plea, and I will find that it is as if we were never apart. Suddenly the cares of the world vanish and I am in my Father’s arms. What bliss is greater? O that I were steadfast as He!

“Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.” ~Psalm 46:10

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

