Night

I read somewhere that a new moon
and dark skies make a great night
to spot comets. I didn’t come here
for that. I got in my car and drove,
no destination in mind, only the thought
that I had to leave, had to put distance
between me and the self I left behind,
the self I have become but am wanting to lose.

When life presses down too hard upon me,
I drive. There is comfort in the smooth
coolness of the wheel beneath my hands,
the road stretched out in a limitless
expanse, and in those moments
I dare to hope that there is more than this
life I am half-living, this life I am barely surviving.
The feeling may vanish after a moment,
but it will have to be
enough.

EDIT: I have a new addiction: Sudoku

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

