It’s a Hard-Knock Life

I had hoped grad school would be the end of having to do useless assignments, a.k.a busy work, but nooooo. I find myself confronted with them all the time in one of my classes. I am currently trying to find out what England copyright law was like in 1720, who wrote a review of Coleridge’s Christabel in 1816, or where the manuscript for the Civil War diary of Mary Chestnut is housed. These queries (and they are just a few of many) are supposed to teach me how to research, and I have become quite familiar with practically every database known to man (or at least those relevant to work in English studies), but I cannot find the answers to any of these infernal questions. I’ve spent at least five hours here and there on this one assignment, to no avail. If this is what it means to be a professor (and I really really really hope it’s not), then forget it. I’m going to work at Sea World.

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

