Yesterday was a good day! I saw Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, which didn’t disappoint. It was definitely different in tone from the previous ones, no doubt due to the change in director, but it was a nice change. Also definitely darker, both in terms of plot and cinematography, but there was still quite a bit of the humor that you find in the books. Of course they left out a lot of stuff, but that’s to be expected when you’re dealing with a massive tome like HP 4. I am still deciding my final feelings, but I can tentatively say that it might be the best yet. (I do still miss the old Dumbledore–Richard Harris–though. Michael Gambon isn’t the same. And the actors who played Krum and Cho Chang left much to be desired, but oh well.)

Then after that I went to a play at UT with Sheena and Katie. Our friend Dustin was in it, and he was fantastic (especially compared to some of the other actors), and then we went to IHOP, which I haven’t been to in forever. I had the stuffed french toast combo, and it was seriously one of the best things I’ve ever eaten. Seriously, you must try it if you go to IHOP.

On today’s agenda: a marathon viewing of the real Pride and Prejudice, the A&E miniseries (for a truly inspired commentary on this version, go to Jessica’s Xanga.) I’m going over to Sheena and Katie’s later this afternoon, and we’re going to watch all five hours of it. They haven’t seen it, which is a true travesty, but they have seen the new one, so I’m interested to see how the A&E version measures up for them. I don’t care how great the reviews are, Kiera Knightley as Elizabeth Bennet is just wrong!

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

