Ah, Memory Lane

Tonight my parents and I watched Batman Begins again, and then we decided to dig out some of the home movies and watch them. First up: my 6th birthday party at the greatest place on earth–McDonald’s. Let me tell you, that was one boring party. It seemed like we just sat there and ate forever. My favorite exchange:
Me: “I don’t like my brother.”
One of the parents supervising: “Oh, sure you do.”
Me: “No, really, I don’t.”

HA! Things got a little more interesting when we moved the party outside to the playground, which definitely is different from the bright plastic elaborate monstrosities kids have these days. This little play area had a wooden slide that also had one of those big steering wheels and a curved window on the side of it; one of those big saucer-like things that you pile into and turn with a wheel; and a plastic jungle gym-type thing. Now, I don’t remember the last time I saw a wooden anything on a playground. Anyway, favorite outside moment: me standing on the outside of the saucer thing and going to turn it but instead banging my head on the side and falling to the ground. I think we rewound that part and watched it about four times. It was so funny! And I was a big girl; I didn’t even cry! My brother was also really funny, as every five minutes he would do these crazy gestures and say, “I’m Peewee Herman!” He was so cute but so loud, and when we were watching it my mom said, “You know, I think he had ADD.” But he turned out okay. Hehe.

We also watched portions of mine and Brandon’s old dance recitals. (There’s a little Erin trivia for you: I took tap and jazz lesson for 6 years. Apparently it didn’t stick, though because I’m the worst dancer on the planet.) It was so weird to see how little we were, and how completely different we looked. Seeing myself that young and watching my parents’ reaction to seeing my brother and me that young was really fun, though. We should do that more often. (And we will: tomorrow when my brother and his fiancee are over, we’re totally going to show Nikki what she’s marrying into.)

Speaking of tomorrow, I don’t know that I’ve ever been so excited for anyone to get a present as I am for my brother to get his. I don’t think he has any idea what my parents got him, but I’m not gonna lie; it’s good. We do a Christmas Eve gift exchange, so tomorrow he will get it, and it’s going to be so fun! Until then you’ll just have to wait to see what it is.

I hope all of you have a wonderfully happy Christmas, and remember to thank the Lord for sending His Son to die that we might live for Him!

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

