Work in Progress

I don’t do content well. In fact, I don’t do it all, really. I’m notorious for living so much in the future that I disregard the present. I waste a lot of time worrying about things that never happen, planning things I have no reason/business to plan, and generally freaking out about things that, once they actually happen, weren’t really freak-worthy in the first place. (It’s like that saying that says 90% of the things we worry about don’t come true, and the 10% that do come true aren’t the big deal we thought they would be. If I could grasp this statement, really know it deepdeep down, just think of all the brainpower I’d save!) I’ve known this about myself for years, and yet I’ve been stuck in the same cycle, like the spindle on a record playing that keeps jumping back to the same place in the song, over and over and over again. Not only have I know this for years, but for years I’ve allowed my worry and lack of contentment to steal my joy and weigh me down. And of course nothing is more un-glorifying to God than a Christian who can’t seem to truly practice Christianity.

What I’ve come to realize over the past few weeks, in a new way, is if I want to change this, I must start from the beginning. I have to “demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God and take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ,” (2 Cor. 5:10) which means I have to stop believing the lies I tell myself and replace them with the Truth. (Remember my “truths to live by”? That’s where those come in handy.) Ideally, no matter the situation, I should be content, I should be joyful, I should be grateful for the place God has me. I should be able to say like Paul that “I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances” (Phil. 4:11). And if Paul, who experienced trials that I will more than likely never have to face, can say that, then certainly I can get over myself, my selfishness, and my worldly perspective and start being more eternally minded. Not only that, but our God commands that we “be joyful always, pray continually, and give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus” (1 Thess. 5:16-18). There’s God’s will in a nutshell: be joyful, fellowship with Him, and give Him thanks in every situation. Small words, overwhelming task, but a more than capable God whose grace is sufficient for us to accomplish it all. (Now if I can just remember that it’s not me but Him who works in me to will and to act according to His good purpose!) Will you join me on the journey?

Are you lacking joy in your life? Do you long for contentment? It’s yours for the taking. Look no further than Jesus.

ETA: Classes start tomorrow. Guess what time my first class is? 3:35. It will be like that every M, W, F. Yippee skippy! And I am totally posting about Gilmore Girls tomorrow, so stay tuned!

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

