Gilmore Gab

After an excruciating six week hiatus, Gilmore Girls is back with a vengeance! I have to say I loved this episode; it was definitely one of the better ones in a season that has been consistently inconsistent. I found myself laughing out loud on several occasions, and the relationship between Lorelai and Rory seemed back to normal and not quite so forced as the previous episode. I’m not inspired enough to post a full recap of the show, but if you want a pretty good one, I found one here. Instead, I’ll just list the good, the bad, and the ugly.

The Good:
Continuity! Lorelai and Rory actually took their Atlantic City trip to celebrate Rory’s 21st birthday. Sure, it was a little belated, but the fact that for once the writers remembered something they made a big deal out of in a previous episode and continued the story!

Use of the word “doppelganger.” I mean, really, what show uses such great but obscure words? (You know you all looked it up!)

Paris and Doyle’s ghetto apartment and the five locks/door kick. (People on the GG forum of which I’m a member have just been appalled at it, but to me it didn’t seem THAT terrible. A little rundown, but certainly not the worst I’ve seen. Any thoughts?)

Paris and Doyle practicing their self-defense.

Paris telling Rory to inform any guests that the guys downstairs are members of a “doowop group.”

Paris in general. (Liza Weil’s a genius.)

Sookie calling Lorelai’s ring the “golden ticket.”

Kirk roaming around Stars Hollow trying to pick up a wireless connection.

Snow falling as Lorelai talks about the perfect dress and all of the arrangements being complete. (More continuity–Lorelai has a long-standing relationship with snow that has not been without its conflicts, i.e., “Women of Questionable Morals” from season five.)

Mrs. Kim and Lane’s bonding over what I guess is some sort of Korean whiskey. (It was much more touching than that makes it sound.)

Rory ignoring Logan’s charms.

Logan telling Rory he loves her. (I’m not a huge fan of Logan, but I felt like he meant it. I don’t know.)

The expression on Luke’s face when he’s looking at April’s website. It’s so sweet.

Fabulously quoteable lines:

Lorelai telling Rory not to talk bad about her but to start with “My mother is very hot” when she meets with the psychologist.

Paris to Rory, after the latter thinks she hears a gunshot: “No, that’s just a car backfiring. The real thing actually sounds fake. You’ll pick it up eventually. It’s called ghetto ear.”

Paris to Doyle in the middle of their wrestling match: “Someone’s been practicing behind my back. I love you.”

Zach in Kim’s antiques: “Yeah, I can tell there’s a major rush on ancient crap.”

Paris to the new newspaper staff: “I’m not your mother, or a hugger. If you need some love, get a hooker.

Rory crying and saying, “Yeah, I’m a treat” to the psychologist.

Rory crying and saying, “I really love coffee” to the psychologist.

The Bad:
Sookie being all “I’m the best friend of the bride and Luke gets no say in anything.” She was way too over the top.

Lorelai and Sookie basically disregarding whatever Luke said.

Rory’s hair: bangs there one minute, gone the next.

Sad Lane. I hated to see her all snippy and miserable.

Luke still hasn’t told Lorelai about April, but he did go see April’s mom Anna and then later decided he wants an active part in April’s life. I smell trouble with a capital T.

The scene with the psychologist. It was too comical or something. And Alexis Bledel just isn’t a good crier.

Logan pulling a Jess by appearing out of the blue and telling her he loves her. (It’s not exactly the same, but what is it about Rory that causes guys to constantly declare their love for her?)

Rory stalking the professor to try and get into a class. She can be really obnoxious. Ugh.

The Ugly:
Lorelai’s dress. It’s not at all what I pictured for Lorelai. It’s too busy and too fluffy.

The final scene of the episode was once again the scene the promo made a big deal of. They really need to stop that; it’s driving me bonkers!

Okay, that’s all. The preview for next week makes me want to pull out my hair! I knew this was going to happen. If Lorelai and Luke don’t get married, I seriously will quit watching. Well, maybe.

Tomorrow I have real classes. (The afternoon class I had today is the class I have to observe/assist.) Here’s my schedule:

9:40-10:55: Teaching Composition
11:10-12:25: Readings in the 16th/17th Century
12:40-1:55: Studies in Chaucer: Troilus and Criseyde (I’m SO excited about this class!)

So basically my Tuesdays and Thursdays will be nuts. Hopefully I won’t have papers due in all 3 classes on the same day or something. And I think the whole having class late in the afternoon thing is no good. I slept till noon, which was nice but not exactly productive. I need to have a reason to get up, but having a class at 3:35 isn’t enough of one. And none of you care about this, so I’m shutting up now.

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

