One Year Anniversary

Today is my one year anniversary as a blogger. I’m making a big deal out of this mainly because it’s the only anniversary I can make a big deal out of. One day (hopefully) I’ll be talking about my wedding anniversary, and that will be fabulous, but until then, happy anniversary, blog! Technically speaking, this isn’t my xanga anniversary, but it is the day that I started my blog on Blogger. I was feeling sentimental, so I reread some of my entries on Blogger, and I’m starting to think the stuff I was writing there is better than what I’ve been writing here, at least for the most part. I wonder if any of that has to do with the fact that I didn’t have much of an audience over on blogspot, so I could just write without being aware of 78 subscribers, but who knows. Anyway, here’s what I wrote on that oh-so-monumental day of January 31, 2005:

Hello, dear reader. I’m starting off this blog by being optimistic enough to think that someone will actually read this, in which case that person would be very dear. When I first thought about starting a blog I decided not to because my life is, well, not all that spectacular. However, after further rumination, I determined that life itself is spectacular (yes, I could write for Hallmark), and it’s our attitudes that determine what kind of life we live day by day. Every day when I wake up I have a choice: to be happy or to be sad, to be positive or to be negative, to be excited or bored. (That was more than one choice, but it’s my blog, so I’ll do what I want. And in case you haven’t noticed, I am overly fond of parenthetical statements.) Today, for instance, I have to say that I woke up with dread, for several reasons. For one, it was Monday, and Mondays just come much too quickly after Sundays. Secondly, it’s month-end, which means that I had all sorts of reports to run at work, and the computer almost always fights against me, which in turn means that I spend all day with the phone glued to my ear, talking to a computer techie. And third, my bed was super warm. Why, you ask? Two words, my friends: flannel sheets. They are absolutely marvelous. After purchasing said flannel sheets, I named my bed “Happy Bed.” (Before it was just “That Thing I Sleep In,” which is decidedly less interesting.) But I digress. So this morning I had the choice to go to work and be grumpy and let my mood match the gloomy weather outside, but I opted not to. Instead, I decided that Monday should be no different from any other day of the week, and wouldn’t you know it? I had a great day! Nothing went wrong with the computer, I got all of my work done, and I found a book on teaching yourself Latin for a really cheap price! (I want to learn Latin since I plan to get my doctorate in medieval literature.) With that said, embrace each day you’re given. You never know, it may be your last.

Interesting, huh? A lot has changed in a year. For one, I’m no longer at that job, and for that I offer up a great big “Hallelujah!” Secondly, I’m in a completely different city doing a completely different thing. The transition period, as my long-term readers know, was difficult, but now I can honestly say that I’m grateful God brought me to the city of Knoxville to become a grad student. And that’s a huge thing for me. Then of course there’s the fact that sadly I no longer am in possession of those wonderful flannel sheets. I got a new bedroom suite when I moved, and my sheets were for a full-sized bed, but my new bed is a queen. Very sad day when I realized the Happy Bed would be a little less happy. But then I got sateen sheets, and they are pretty marvelous as well. I can adapt. (And I’m moving on because no one cares about my sheets.) What’s funny about this entry is that I wrote about finding a book on learning Latin, and I still have yet to learn any Latin. That’s pretty sad. I did, however, open up the book the other day and read the introduction. I really must learn Latin. I pretty much can’t be a bona fide medievalist unless I do, so if anyone knows Latin and wants to give me some tips, please do!

Anywho, I will say that the reminder to make the most of every day is a timely one. As a fairly pessimistic kind of person I’m often tempted to dwell on the negatives, but I do really think that perspective is key, so I’m working a lot on changing that. With God’s invaluable help and guidance, I’m learning the meaning of Paul’s command to “rejoice in the Lord always.” It’s no easy command, but trying is half the battle. So, my dear readers, remember that this day is what you make of it. This is the day the Lord has made, so rejoice and be glad in it!

P.S. New Gilmore Girls tonight! Get ready for a showdown with the grandparents!

EDIT: GG was a-MAZ-ing! The last 10 minutes were probably some of the best in the entire show’s history. Absolutely brilliant. Stay tuned for more of that commentary you all know and love. Or at least know about. Whatever.

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

