Beautiful Ugliness

Crazy weather last night! Earlier that evening I almost got pelted by hail while leaving Borders, which was fun. I ended up waiting around the lobby of the store with about 5 other people until the hail let up, and while there I ended up meeting this woman who lives in my apartment complex, right across from me, no less. Weird. I usually love storms, revel in them even, but last night I was tired and stressed and I just wanted to sleep, but I couldn’t because there were loud cracks of thunder every two seconds, along with almost constant flashes of lightning. I think I was up from 2:30-5, just lying in bed and counting the intervals between thunder. Nothing makes you feel small and insignificant like a mighty thunderstorm.

Then today I go outside, and it’s absolutely gorgeous! The sun is shining, the wind is blowing (somewhat forcefully, but it’s nice), and it’s the perfect temperature. I think it’s God’s way of reminding us that something beautiful always comes out of something ugly. Isn’t that what He does with us: takes our dark, ugly, sinful hearts and make them beautiful and pure? What a gift!

You know, thinking about all He’s done really makes facing the stress of this week a lot more bearable. Isn’t that something?

Also, hooray for flip-flops! Do you know that I refused to wear flip-flops up until my freshman year in college because I hated my feet? It’s true. I actually wouldn’t wear any shoes that showed my toes. But thankfully I got over that and discovered the freedom of flip-flops.

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

