Meditations on Singlehood, Part Two

Is God enough? I don’t ask that in a way that’s meant to sound blasphemous or flippant; it’s just something I’ve been trying to think through. Let me explain:

One of my favorite verses is Psalm 73:25: “Whom have I in heaven but You? And earth has nothing I desire besides You.” I return to this verse, and the ones following it, whenever I feel dissatisfied with being single or when I just feel lonely. I remind myself that all I need is God. To be honest, sometimes this helps, sometimes it doesn’t.

Then there’s the song “Enough” by Chris Tomlin (I think he wrote it): “All of You is more than enough for all of me, for every thirst and every need. You satisfy me with Your love. All I have in You is more than enough.” I’ve sung that song many times, taken comfort in it, tried to remind myself of the words when I’m wishing I were married.

But then there’s Genesis. Adam is in the garden, and God says, “It is not good for man to be alone; I will make a helper suitable for him.” God Himself said it’s not good for man to be alone, but Adam was with God, right? So what does it mean that God felt Adam needed someone else? If God is enough, if He is all I need, then what are other people for? And I’m not really sure I’m comfortable with saying that God isn’t enough, so how do I reconcile these two ideas? I know that if I’m not happy being single, I won’t be happy being married, and I know that I need to be content with where God has me, and I honestly am trying.

I think I’ve been thinking too much.

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

