The Way We Were

EDIT: I’m SO SLEEPY! Why does exercise work like a sleeping pill for me? I just don’t get it. I got about 7 hours last night, which is more than usual for a “school night,” so I don’t know what the deal is.

I bought some whole grain shredded wheat because the box said “Lose 10 pounds in 2 weeks!” and naturally I’m a sucker for blatant lies like that. So the deal is that you eat the cereal for two meals a day, and this is supposed to result in a 10-pound weight loss. What they neglect to tell you, however, is that doing this means you’re STARVING an hour after eating! Stupid cereal.

This is the point in the semester where I typically freak out about all I have to get done before the end, but for some strange reason that’s not happening. So instead of just rejoicing that I’m not obsessing over school, I’m worried that I’m not taking school seriously. Who worries about not worrying enough? I’m such a sicko.

* * * * * * *
The Way We Were is so amazing. Has anyone else seen it? It just really moved me, I don’t know why. There’s this one heartbreaking scene where Barbara Streisand’s character calls Robert Redford’s character and wants him to come over and comfort her because she needs her best friend and he’s it, but he’s also the reason she’s crying (which, incidentally, is the scene that Lorelai references in the Gilmore Girls episode where she and Luke are broken up and she calls him to come over). It just made me cry and cry. And you know what I realized? Brad Pitt looks like a young Robert Redford. The whole movie I kept thinking that.

Some excellent quotes (from different parts of the same scene, interestingly enough):

Hubbell: You push too hard, Katie, every minute. There’s never time to relax and enjoy living. Everything’s too serious to be so serious.
Katie: If I push too hard it’s because I want things to be better, I want us to be better, I want you to be better. Sure I make waves, I mean you have to. And I’ll keep making them till you’re everything you should be and will be. You’ll never find anyone as good for you as I am, to believe in you as much as I do or to love you as much.

Hubbell: Katie, you expect so much.
Katie: Oh, but look what I’ve got.

*Sigh.*

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

