FYI

1. “Irregardless” is not a word. Think about it; it makes no sense.
2. Words like “art,” “lute,” and “music” are not capitalized, unless they are in the title of something, like a museum or a book.
3. “Alot” is not a word!!! There is “allot,” meaning to allocate, or “a lot,” meaning many. I know I’ve said this many times, but it keeps creeping up in stuff I read. How did this get started? And how can I make it stop?
4. Starting a paper with “The (fill in tragic event here) was a terrible time in human history” is the most boring and unoriginal way to start a paper. You do that, and you instantly put the teacher to sleep.
5. Paragraphs are typically more than two sentences long. This rule can only be broken if you are a best-selling novelist. Then you can do whatever you want.
6. “Their” is a possessive pronoun, and “they’re” is a contraction for “they are.” Doesn’t seem hard, but somehow the two are constantly confused. (The same goes for “its” and “it’s.”)
7. Giving your paper the title “Paper 2” displays an egregious lack of creativity.

I think that about covers it. None of this is directed at any of you, but if you do any of the above, get some help. I’ll be glad to correct you. What errors drive you crazy?

It is so incredibly hot in the building I’ve been in all day that I think I may die of a heat stroke. If I do, it’s been lovely knowing all of you.

EDIT: I’m alive, in case anyone was wondering. Here’s today’s stupid comment from my stupidest things ever said calendar: “Today Lesbian forces invaded…no, sorry, that should be Lesbianese.” ~TV newscaster. Hahahaha.

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

