A Small Miracle of Mercy

Something amazing happened today: I experienced mercy. I lost the entire contents of my paper last night, and so I was up all night rewriting it. Around 7 I had 8 and a half pages of the 10 I needed, and I emailed my professor and explained what happened. I told her I would try and be prepared to present today but I wanted to let her know in case it turned out to be total junk, which it really was. My brain was completely fried, and I was so stressed out, but then my professor emailed me back and told me she had no problem with my presenting on Thursday instead. I was totally not expecting any kind of leniency because the whole “my computer ate my paper” story is a standard among the freshmen students, and I probably wouldn’t have had sympathy for a student of mine who came to me with my story. I was so relieved when I got the email that I started crying and ended up looking like a complete mess for my next class. But it gets better. I had a paper due on Thursday as well that I was going to have to pretty much kill myself to get done in time, and I was definitely not looking forward to it. But today in class one of my classmates asked if we could have an extension, and lo and behold, the professor said yes! Now the paper’s not due until Monday! Praise the Lord!!

And because I have no original thought in me right now:

45 of the most random things you probably never needed to know about someone

What’s your name spelled backwards?: lezteh elocin nire

What did you do last night?: Wrote a paper. All night long.

The last thing you downloaded onto your computer?: I believe it was the new All-American Rejects CD

Have you ever licked a 9 volt battery?: No, I stick to AA batteries only.

Last time you swam in a pool?: Hmm, I don’t remember. Maybe last summer?

What are you wearing?: t-shirt and pajama pants

How many cars have you owned?: I haven’t owned any myself, but I’ve driven three different ones.

Type of music you dislike most?: Polka

Are you registered to vote?: You betcha!

Do you have cable?: The most basic of basic, just so I can have the WB.

what kind of computer do you have? An HP laptop that is currently on my bad side.

Ever made a prank phone call?: Of course.

You like anyone right now?: Yep.

Would you go bungee jumping or sky diving?: I’d go sky diving, but bungee jumping makes me nervous for some reason.

Furthest place you ever traveled?: Thailand.

What’s your favorite comic strip?: I don’t read comics much, but I like Luann and Family Circle.

Do u know all the words to the national anthem?: Yes I do.

Shower, morning or night?: Usually morning.

Best movie you’ve seen in the past month?: That I hadn’t already seen? American Dreamz

Favorite pizza toppings?: ham and pineapple or pepperoni or even just plain cheese.

Chips or popcorn?: Chips usually, but I do love popcorn.

What cell phone provider do you have?: Verizon

Have you ever smoked peanut shells?: I’m not sure how one would even go about doing that.

Have you ever been in a beauty pageant?: No, unless you count the one I was in during a sleepover in sixth grade.

Orange Juice or apple?: Orange Juice!

Who were the last people you sat at lunch with?: Diana

Favorite chocolate bar?: Twix or Take 5

Who is your longest friend and how long?: Laura. We’ve known each other since sixth grade. (Can you believe that, Laura??)

Last time you ate a homegrown tomato?: A long time ago. I don’t really like tomatoes.

Have you ever won a trophy?: Yes, several. I have some bowling trophies from my successful stint as a member of the third grade bowling league, I have some dance trophies, and I have some trophies I won in middle school writing contests.

Favorite arcade game?: Cruisin’ USA. Hehe.

Ever ordered from an infomercial?: No, but my parents do it way more than is healthy.

Sprite or 7-UP?: Sprite, but really I don’t drink either very often.

Have you ever had to wear a uniform to school/work?: No, but it sure would have made things easier.

Last thing you bought at Walgreens?: A bubble mailer.

Ever thrown up in public?: Yes, but it was in elementary school.

Would you prefer being a millionaire or finding true love?: Love. Money goes away, but true love lasts forever. (Yes, I could write for Hallmark.)

Do you believe in love at first sight?: No, only lust at first sight.

Spongebob or Jimmy Neutron?: I don’t really watch either one.

Did you have long hair as a young kid?: No. I’ve never really had long hair.

What message is on your voicemail machine?: Something about how I’m sorry to have missed your call and if you leave a message I’ll call you back. Very original.

Where would you like to go right now?: A tropical island complete with a hammock and a cute guy.

Whats the name of your pet?: I don’t have one.

What kind of backpack do you have, and what’s in it?: It’s a really old one from Target (I think it’s Greatland), and I have a ton of junk in it.

What do you think about most?: Myself, unfortunately.

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

