On Slumber and Punctuation

EDIT: There is delicious liberty in simply being yourself.

* * * * * * *
This morning I woke up before my alarm went off. At 6:42, to be exact. I can’t recall the last time I woke up before my alarm. Or actually, I can’t recall the last time I woke up before my alarm and then was unable to fall back asleep. I have an extraordinary talent of waking up suddenly, only to roll over and drift off into blissful oblivion once more. I can do this several times before finally deciding that my slumber should be concluded (until my afternoon nap, that is). I wonder how many years of my life have been devoted to sleep, were I to add up all the hours. I would probably be dismayed and a little ashamed at the number, I imagine. I’m going to keep ending my sentences with clauses set off by the obligatory comma, I think. The book I’m reading is delightful, for it is all about punctuation. The author is the stickler-est of all grammar sticklers, I do believe. (These types of sentences don’t leave room for much variety, do they?) Hmm.

Here’s a quote from the book Eats, Shoots and Leaves: “Yes, some of us were born to be punctuation vigilantes.” Quite true, I should say. (I’m back to speaking in the British accent. Such fun!)

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

