Pulled Over

So I was leaving school around 7pm, just driving along, windows down, U2 blaring (“Sunday Bloody Sunday”-love that song!), not a care in the world (except for the pressing matter of the 20-page paper I have due tomorrow, of which I have roughly 12 pages). All of a sudden, I glance in my rearview mirror and see flashing blue lights. I immediately think, “I know those can’t be for me,” but after I realizing that no one else was anywhere near me, I gulped and pulled to the side of the road. My heart was pounding, my mind was racing. I had no idea how fast I’d been going. The officer approaches my window, introduces himself (that was a first), and then asks, “Do you know what the speed limit here is?” I said, “40?” not really having the slightest clue. He said, “It’s 35, and I clocked you at 50.” Oops. I didn’t know what to say, so do you know what I said? “Oh, boy.” Yes, that’s right, “Oh, boy.” The police officer asked for my license, it took me what seemed like ages to find it, he glanced at it, and then handed it back. Then he said, “Everything looks good. Try to slow it down, okay?” And that was it! What was the point of pulling me over if he was just going to tell me to “slow it down”? I don’t really know, but I’m very relieved that I didn’t get slammed with a ticket for going fifteen over the speed limit! It’s not that I wouldn’t have deserved the ticket, but in this case I honestly wasn’t paying attention. I learned my lesson, though!

I’m watching the “last ever” episode of 7th Heaven. I have no idea what’s going on. Apparently Simon’s getting married, but he’s not sure about it? I quit watching it many seasons ago when it started becoming really lame, but I felt like I had to watch the series finale. Anyway, the Rev. just told this guy who apparently is in love with the girl Simon’s supposed to marry that the person you marry should bring out the best in you. If the person you’re with doesn’t bring out the best in you, perhaps he/she is not the right person for you. I think that’s really wise. It makes a lot of sense; if you love someone, truly love them, then you’ll want to be the absolute best version of yourself, and the other person will do likewise. In this way, you’ll both encourage each other to be better together (like the Jack Johnson song!). Of course, I’m not married (thank you, Captain Obvious), so take this all with a grain of salt. Something to think about, though. And in case anyone was wondering, this is the stupidest finale ever in the history of finales. Good riddance, 7th Heaven!

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

