Hooray for Student Discounts

Today I made an exciting purchase: Macromedia Studio 8. If you go to the website, you’ll notice it retails for $999. I of course would rather buy 999 items at the dollar store than spend that much money on some software, but fortunately for me, UT gets a huge price break on software bundles. Guess how much I paid for this software package. $180.26 (with tax). I can’t even tell you how much the aspiring web designer within me is thrilled with this purchase. It has Dreamweaver, Flash, Fireworks, Contribute, Flash Paper, among others. Basically it will enable me to begin my summer project: a personal website. I think it would be a good thing to have, and I really liked working on the website for my grant project (except for when things went wrong), so I figured I would use some of the grant money to continue my web design education. Yippee skippy! I hope to launch my own personal website sometime in August, if all goes according to plans. (My plans right now consist of making a website. I haven’t gotten much further than that. Ha.)

Now I’m off to take a little nap because some stupid loud birds woke me up at 5:30 this morning with their chirping (my impression of which amused my roommate immensely), and I couldn’t go back to sleep. Stephen promised to buy me a purple bb gun for my birthday, though, so in five months those birds better watch out!

Has anyone else heard of The Fray? My lovely friend Sarah introduced them to me, and I’m quite the fan now. Songs to download: “She Is,” “Over My Head (Cable Car),” and “How to Save a Life,” which, incidentally, are the album’s first three songs.

Here’s one of the recent quotes from my Stupidest Things Ever Said calendar. I hate that all of my favorites are George Bush quotes, but well, he said them. “We had a chance to visit with Theresa Nelson, who’s a parent, and a mom or a dad.” Indeed.

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

