Always Follow the Directions

Stephen is out walking his dog Bailey, so I’m taking this opportunity to update. We’ve had the most lovely time. Today we went to Chili’s for lunch with a married couple, Jonathan and Erin, and their little baby girl Bethany, and we had a great time. We were both in their wedding, and it’s always fun being around a baby, especially when she’s happy and not fussy. Then we went to Books a Million, which I kind of hate as a bookstore, but since that’s pretty much all Jackson has in the way of bookstores and Stephen had a gift card, we went. He couldn’t find anything, so he bought me One Hundred Years of Solitude, which I’ve been wanting to read and will be added to my rapidly growing list of books to read this summer.

We also had quite the culinary adventure. Stephen’s mom makes this really good chocolate pie that he loves, and he got the recipe, so we decided to try it. I’ve baked little in my life, aside from those “slice and bake” cookies, and I don’t believe Stephen is an experienced chef either, but that didn’t deter us. We interspersed a little dancing to Michael Buble with our cooking, which I highly recommend as a way of making the whole experience much more interesting. One lesson about recipes: read all of the directions before you start dumping in ingredients. Otherwise you’ll add things before they are meant to be added. The pie called for a meringue topping, which we had to try twice since we couldn’t quite get the hang of it, but we finally decided to just throw it on there and see what happens. It ended up looking very pretty (I took a picture of course, which I will upload when I’m at home), and we’re waiting on it to cool so we can eat it, and then I’m going to beat Stephen at Scattergories again.

Tomorrow we’re going to try and complete our list of planned activities, and so that means bowling and swinging and possibly a screening of The Breakup. Yay!!

Hope everyone is having a splendid weekend!

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

