Circle of Life

**Pictures added below.**


My brother’s married now!  It was a really lovely wedding, despite a few “hiccups” along the way (the groomsmen being late for pictures, Brandon forgetting the ring and having to rush home and get it, the flower girl being spooked by the crazy wedding coordinator, etc.).  I only got a little teary-eyed towards the beginning of the ceremony, and I think that was mostly in response to seeing Brandon get a little choked up while watching his bride Nikki come down the aisle.  The rest of the time I was distracted by the fact that my hair kept getting caught in the flower arrangement located directly behind my head.  I kept picturing the entire arrangement tumbling to the ground when I got ready to leave the platform, but fortunately nothing of the sort happened.  It was a long day, and by the time my parents and I got home around 8 p.m., I was ready to go to bed!  And it wasn’t even my wedding!  And I didn’t even do anything major except stand around and look pretty.  (Which is hard work, I must say.) Oh, and I did do the cha-cha slide at the reception.  Hehe.  I like a dance that gives you instructions as you go along. (I thought I’d temporarily revive the boldfaced words, just for kicks.)

Stephen had planned on coming to the wedding, but sadly his grandfather passed away Saturday morning.  He had been in the hospital and not doing very well after a surgery, and they finally took him off the respirator Friday night.  I wish I could have been there for Stephen when it happened (he was with his family in Illinois), but I was able to go to Jackson today to see him, and I’m going with him to Illinois on Tuesday for the funeral.  If you think about it, say some prayers for the family.  His grandfather is with Jesus now, which is certainly better for him, but it’s always hard to say goodbye to the ones we love.  How ironic that I’ll be meeting all of his family at the funeral, when he was going to meet all of my family at the wedding.  Life is strange. 

EDIT:  Here are 3 pictures.  Not much, but it’s all I really had on my camera before the batteries died.


The sanctuary before the wedding.  I tried this shot with the flash on and off, and it still came out dark.  Oh well.

Me with Nikki before the wedding.



 

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

