Simplified Spelling: Anything But Sempull

EDIT: Stephen was my 20,000th visitor. He wins…me!

I read this article today on Yahoo about those who want to change English spelling to make it more like it sounds. Nice idea, but it’s never going to work. It would be as successful as something like suddenly switching to the metric system would be. What do you think, Stef (she’s an elementary school teacher)? Do you want to start teaching an entirely new way of spelling? Wouldn’t that be fun? Apparently even Teddy Roosevelt was pushing for simplified spelling at one point. It’s an interesting idea, but I can’t see it ever coming to fruition.

In other news, Liz and I saw The Devil Wears Prada tonight, and I liked it a lot. It wasn’t quite what I was expecting, which in this case was good.

And I miss Stephen. I wish there was a way to squish the state of TN so that Jackson and Knoxville weren’t 5 hours apart. Can someone work on that for me? Thanks so much.

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

