Late-Night Musings

Why am I wide awake at almost 3 in the a.m.? I have no idea, but it’s been a common theme since I’ve gotten back to Knoxvegas. At first I thought it was because I was sick, but I’m 90% better now, so I don’t think that’s it. I don’t really know what it is. But there’s nothing more frustrating than wanting to be asleep and not being able to get there.

American Idol is holding auditions in Memphis Labor Day weekend. I totally want to go and try out. I wanted to last year, but the Memphis audition got canceled because the city was hosting so many Katrina victims. I really just want to see if I could get past the preliminary auditions and face the judges. I wonder if I’d crack under pressure or actually be able to sing normally. Probably more of the former than the latter, I’m guessing.

What do you think it is that makes people attractive to one another? I mean, I think it is fairly safe to say that there are some people that the majority of the population would find attractive, but what about the others? Because I’m completely judgmental and critical, I sometimes will spot a couple and think to myself, “I wonder what he (or she) see in her (or him).” Isn’t that terrible? And then I have heard people describe the person they’re with as the “most beautiful” person in the world, and I have to wonder if they really believe that in their hearts or if they’re just saying it. I would never expect Stephen to say I’m the most beautiful woman in the world because that’s, well, completely absurd. I guess when it comes down to it, personality has to factor in somewhere. I know some really pretty people whom I find really unattractive because I’ve seen their character (or lack thereof), and it’s kind of nullified whatever outer beauty their appearance may possess. On the flip side, I know some people who I’m sure will never end up on the cover of Vogue that have some of the most beautiful souls, and that’s what I find attractive. And I believe that’s what the Lord finds attractive as well.

“Man looks at the outward appearance, but God looks at the heart.” ~ 1 Samuel 16:7

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

