I’m Nine Years Old!

Spiritually, that is. Nine years ago on this day I quit fighting God and gave Him my life. It was the best decision I ever made, and it’s been one wild and crazy ride. (I wrote about that day in an earlier post, so feel free to read my “God-story.”) I wouldn’t have it any other way. In some ways I feel as though I’ve grown a lot, and in other ways I feel like I’m still a “baby” Christian. I still struggle with reading my Bible and praying regularly, and I still stubbornly try and do things on my own far too often.

But I have realized how amazing my God is, how sinful I am, and how completely undeserving of His love I am. It’s incredible to think that the God of the universe, the one who placed the starts in the sky and the flowers in the grass and the birds in the trees, LOVES me and knows my name and longs to spend time with me. I’ve learned that the world is bigger than my state of Tennessee, and that people in Thailand and Honduras and Kenya and Australia and California all need Jesus, too. I’ve learned that it’s important to not only think about the needs of those in far-off places, but to look around my microcosm and search for ways to show God’s love to those who live in my hometown. I’ve learned that it’s much better to trust God and let Him lead than to try and do it on my own. I’ve learned that humility goes a long way towards getting to know God better, and that pride is the biggest stumbling block between me and God. I’ve learned to look at myself the way that God sees me and not as the world sees me, and to focus on pleasing Him instead of trying to please everyone else. I’ve learned that God will never love me more or less than He does this very minute, and there’s nothing more freeing than being completely and totally and unconditionally loved.

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

