Just Be

Since some of you think I was needlessly mean to Dr. Seuss the other day, here’s a quote by him that I happen to love:

“Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.”

I think the older I get, the less I care about what people think of me. Not to say that I disregard the feelings or opinions of others; I just don’t get as worked up as I used to about making everyone happy. If someone doesn’t like me or thinks I’m a nerd or a weirdo (and I am), then that’s fine. Real love, that unconditional love that Christ offers us and every once in a while appears in the actions/words of others, accepts me on the basis of who I am, nothing more, nothing less. Real love, that unconditional love, loves me regardless of whether or not my hair looks perfect, my bed is made, or my grades are superior. Real love, that unconditional love, is worth it. Everything else is just counterfeit.

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

