Reaching the Limit

Today I did something I have not done yet in grad school: I dropped a class. I was supposed to give a presentation on a book today, along with having about 300 pages of Bleak House read, and it just wasn’t going to happen. I’ve been working like crazy trying to catch up since I got mono, and I’m worn out. I’ve gotten very little sleep this week, I’m tired all the time, and I’m so stressed out that yesterday I felt like I was going to be sick. This is NOT conducive to a full recovery from mono. When I first came back to school, I debated dropping it, but I decided to try and stick it out. I did okay at first, but it seemed like the minute I finished one thing, something else was waiting to be done. It’s like I couldn’t breathe. Then last night around 2 am when I was trying to finish my presentation, I just sort of lost it. After talking to my dear friend Emily (my fabulous maid of honor), I decided that my mental and physical health is more important than trying to prove to myself that I can catch up on two weeks’ worth of Dickens novels. When I think about it, the one thing that was keeping me from dropping it earlier is pride. I didn’t want my professor to think of me as a quitter, and I didn’t want to think of myself as one, either. But you know what? In ten years will I even care about this class I dropped? I probably won’t care about it in one year. The important thing is for me to know my limits and forget about any concerns I have about what people will think of me. I’ve reached my limit. It’s time to rest.

The silver lining to all of this? When I got back from campus today I checked the mail, and I had a package from Stephen! He sent me the 6th season of Gilmore Girls on DVD! He really is the greatest thing to ever happen to me. Girls, wait for your prince. He’ll come when you least expect it.

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

