Missing

I have been missing Stephen today (which is nothing especially new, since I miss him whenever I’m not with him, and I’m not with him way too much), and I thought how strange it is that he wasn’t even a part of my life six months ago, and now I can’t imagine what my life would be like without him.

My intent in writing this isn’t to make you gag at my cheesiness, but to pose a question. When Jesus was here on earth– the Son of Man, God made flesh–did He miss God? Did God miss Him? I know they are the same being, but they are also separate, and I suppose this is where the mystery of the Trinity applies. Of course, if Jesus was in constant communion with God while on the earth, then I don’t guess He had much reason to miss Him, so perhaps this whole line of thought is preposterous. I just thought how sad it must have been for God to send away His Son to live with a people who would reject Him and ultimately murder Him. As much as I hate to leave Stephen whenever we have to part, I imagine the ache that Jesus felt was paramount, and probably coupled with a great deal of compassion and longing to go to these people who so desperately need Him. How torn he must have been, and yet he went willingly to the slaughter.

I don’t think this post makes any sense, but I know that I can empathize with Paul when he writes in Romans 11:33, “Oh the depth of the riches of the wisdom and knowledge of God! How unsearchable his judgments, and his paths beyond tracing out!” Let us drink in the mystery of Him.

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

