Straws: A Tribute

Straws and I go way back. I remember the first “fun” straw I got, probably as part of a Happy Meal, that had a bunch of loops in it, and I loved drinking Kool-Aid with it. I would slowly suck the colorful liquid, watching it make its ascent up the loops, fascinated by the simple science. Drinking with a straw made the beverages taste better and last longer (at least it seemed that way), and using a straw was much more entertaining than merely using my lips (and I could blow bubbles in my sodas). The delight I found in getting the liquid halfway up the straw and then lifting the straw out of the glass, liquid frozen in space, stays with me to this day.
I don’t have any “fun” straws anymore; now mine are of the basic grocery store variety, but I still insist on buying the straws that are fun colors instead of the ones that are just blue and white striped. Stephen is baffled by my affection for straws, and it saddens me that he does not use them. (I must content myself with blowing the paper wrapper at him. He doesn’t much care for that, either.) I tried to explain the wonder of straws to him, even insisted upon their utility (many a straw has saved me from having the ice at the bottom of the glass come rushing to the top, thus preventing liquid from splashing onto my face), but to no avail. All couples have their disagreements, and I suppose if this is ours, we have it pretty good. 🙂

What is one object you use on a regular basis that you couldn’t go without?

4 thoughts on “Straws: A Tribute

  1. I know you will not be shocked to find out that I use straws in my beverages every single day. I have the fun straws, bendy straws, left over straws from fast food joints and even use twizzlers candy as straws.I don’t like cold on my teeth, so straws are a way for me to keep my mouth happy.My favorite straw was one I got from a Cinnamon Toast Crunch order. It was a pair of glasses! The straw was so cool. It started in your drink and then wound around your eyes and then into your mouth. I’ve never worn a pair of cooler glasses in my life. I carry straws in my purse for emergency beverage drinking opportunities.I also prefer to use plastic utensils. Do you wash and reuse your straws at home? I do that. Perhaps that is what makes me weirdest of all.

    Like

  2. So I definitely think you need to read my blog and then make a list of your own, because I’m sure yours will be different than mine.And oh yeah, I like pens… lots and lots of 0.7 (fine point I think) gel pens. I have at least 50 in my room. No lie.-D

    Like

  3. Ok, this is driving me nuts! Can you please leave a comment telling me how to change the “1 Comment” to say something else! I changed it for mine, but Ginny wants hers changed, and for the life of me I cannot remember how to do that! Ahhhhhh! Help please!

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

