No More "Maybe Tomorrows"

The Facts:

1. I’m obese. I was going to type “overweight,” but the truth of the matter is that I am far past being overweight.

2. Diabetes runs in my family, on both sides. With my weight and eating habits, I am just asking to get it, and that’s the last thing I want.

3. I love my husband. I don’t want to die at 40 of heart disease and leave him alone.

4. I have lost a substantial amount of weight (60 pounds) before, so I know it’s possible.

5. I have gained back all of that weight (plus some) over the past 8 years. That’s disgusting.

6. I am sick of hating who I see in the mirror.

7. I am sick of not finding cute clothes that aren’t exorbitantly overprice or designed with a 60-year-old in mind.

8. I am sick of avoiding shopping trips with friends because I know I won’t be able to try on any of the clothes in the “normal” stores.

9. Food has too much power over me. I’m a glutton.

10. My body is God’s temple, and it’s in sad disrepair.

The Solution:

1. I’m going to lose 100 pounds. I’d like to lose it in a year, but I’m realistic enough to know that 100 pounds is quite a lofty goal, so I’m not going to put a strict time limit on it. I actually could stand to lose more than that if I go by the ideal body weight charts I’ve seen, but I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it.

2. Because my husband loves me and wants me to be with him until we’re both old and gray, he is going to wake up every morning with me at 6 and exercise with me at the school’s wellness center. He’s a morning person, and I definitely am not, so I am relying on him to drag me out of bed, especially when it’s still cold and dark outside. I know that having someone to work out with will make me more likely to follow through with my plans to exercise.

3. I’m not going to be overly restrictive with my eating because diets are temporary solutions. I’m going to make lifestyle changes by eliminating soda (with the exception of 1 Diet Coke every now and then) and eating smaller portions. I think if I would just stop eating when I’m full, I could improve my body a lot. I want to make smart choices when eating and become used to choosing fruits and veggies more than chips and chocolate, and I am going to have to be very diligent about that because I adore junk food.

4. I’m going to bathe this effort in prayer. I truly believe that God wants me to be healthy, and I know He can equip me to accomplish this task.

5. I’m going to be positive. I won’t beat myself up for failures but will celebrate my victories. I will remember that change doesn’t happen overnight and that often what is most worthwhile in life requires a lot of effort and sacrifice.

I am putting this out there as a sort of pledge to myself, to God, and to my husband, that I might be happy and healthy. I don’t know how often I’ll blog on here, but I will use this place to document my progress, record my fears and frustrations and successes, and to keep myself accountable. I know that with God all things are possible, so I venture into this journey with a hopeful heart and willing feet and pray that God grants me His favor.

One thought on “No More "Maybe Tomorrows"

  1. I know this is a fairly old post, but I wanted to read it because I'm trying to get myself to the point where I “snap” and start making those healthy decisions. I also want to lose 100 pounds, and more if I can. I'm also an English teacher (at a middle school). Anyhow, may I have permission to copy your list and hang it up in my apartment?

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

