Union: Looking to the Future

They’re tearing down Hurt and Watters at Union.

I went to campus today so I could get copies made of my revised course reading schedule, and I couldn’t help but notice the heavy machinery in the distance, picking up what used to be rooms (homes, really) and rubble and ruined student belongings and depositing it all in a big heap. And, like so many times this past week, I started to cry. (I really need to stop driving if I’m going to always turn into a blubbering mess.) Even though I only lived in Hurt one semester, I spent many hours there, and I know that others have very strong attachments to their time at Union, much of which was spent in a dorm room. It hurts to think that each of those rooms represents countless memories of late-night conversations, pillow fights, giggling at 3 am, procrastination, movie nights, fights about who would take out the trash or wash dishes, impromptu photo sessions, and who knows what else.

Yet even as I cried I was reminded of the fact that while the buildings are gone, the memories will live on, and it does not honor God to dwell on the past. It honors God when we look to Him for hope and renewal, when we come to Him with our burdens, for His yoke is easy and His burden light. It honors God when we store up treasures in heaven, when we remember that heaven and earth will pass away, but His Word will remain forever, when we cling not to that which is seen, for what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen eternal. It honors God to see His people glorifying Him in the midst of suffering and sorrow, in joy and triumph. It honors God when we stop thinking of ourselves and seek His face. Psalm 27:8: When You said, “Seek My face,” my heart said to You, “Your face, O LORD, I shall seek.” Seek His face, students and friends. Seek His face. All else pales in comparison.

I’ll end with this song by Brooke Fraser, “Shadowfeet”:

Walking, stumbling
On these shadow feet
Toward home, a land that I’ve never seen
I am changing
Less and less asleep
Made of different stuff than when I began

And I have sensed it all along
Now fast approaching is the day

CHORUS
When the world has fallen out from under me
I’ll be found in you, still standing
When the sky rolls up and mountains fall on their knees
When time and space are through
I’ll be found in you

There’s distraction
Buzzing in my head
Saying in the shadows it’s easier to stay
But I’ve heard rumours of true reality
Whispers of a well-lit way

CHORUS

Bridge
You make all things new

*A link to some photos of the demolition: http://www.flickr.com/photos/41208530@N00/sets/72157603912615373/

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

