Long Time, No Blog

Sorry for the quiet blog recently; things have just been kind of weird, for lack of a better word, and I haven’t really known what to write.

Even though by the original school calendar we just finished the 5th week of classes, it was actually the first time we’ve had a full week of classes. Things felt a little bit more routine this week, but I’m concerned about the students. I’ve noticed that they seem more tired (some even struggling to stay awake), and there have been more frequent absences. The faculty were warned about these things happening, but I was kind of skeptical at the time. I’m not now. It seems that a good number of students are having trouble sleeping at night or not sleeping at all, others are ill, and others just don’t have motivation. I really feel for them. I am sure it’s incredibly difficult to try to focus on classes and homework when you’re replaying a natural disaster over and over in your mind and trying to remember and document everything you once owned so you can get insurance or FEMA money. I don’t think I’d be concerned with classes, either. There’s hope that things will return to normal, but I don’t really think that’s possible. Things are changing, have already changed, and so whatever “normal” we have will be a new normal.

The rebuilding of the new dorms has already begun, in the spot where the old dorms once stood. It’s so strange how the removal of those buildings changed the feel of the campus; it looks much smaller now that there is a clear view of the academic buildings from the place where the dorms once partially concealed them. The goal is to have half of the dorms completed by September (7 buildings, I think), and then have the other half completed by next spring. It’s a lofty goal, and the university is really relying on God to provide the needed funds, since it’s going to require a substantial amount of money to build these dorms so quickly. God’s not wringing His hands about it, though, so neither should we.

On the weight loss front, I feel like things are going well. Exercise is really becoming a part of my life, and I’m finding that I like it that way. I feel good when exercise, and when I push myself, I feel even better. This morning I did 42 minutes on the elliptical machine. I wish I could describe what a huge victory that is for me. When I first tried the elliptical, I thought I was going to die. I think I maybe did about 5 minutes before switching to the exercise bike. But I decided to keep trying because it’s a really good calorie-burner, so I have been steadily increasing the amount of time on the machine, and the more I do it, the more comfortable it becomes. I hope to be able to do an hour sometime in the near future, and I feel confident I can accomplish that. The problem during the week is that I don’t really have enough time to do an hour, so that may just have to be a Saturday thing. I like not feeling rushed on Saturday. I can take my time and do whatever I feel like doing, so I did several of the weight machines and 100 crunches on top of the elliptical workout, and I left feeling like I’d conquered the world.

I’m proud to say that I’ve now lost 8 pounds. Monday will be the 6-week mark for me, so I’m very pleased with my progress. I wish I were losing 2 pounds every week, but that doesn’t matter as much as just knowing that I’m giving this my best effort, and I know the weight will come off in time. Weight loss is both instant gratification and delayed gratification all in one, and I want to continue on this journey so I can reach that delayed gratification of seeing my body transformed and healthy.

On Monday I’m taking part in a 3-week challenge, and the challenge is not to weigh yourself during that 3 week period. I think that’s going to be very difficult but also very rewarding. I don’t want the scale to have power over me and determine how I feel about myself, so by the end of the challenge I hope to view the scale as a tool and not the enemy. 🙂 I also look forward to weighing in after those 3 weeks and seeing a big loss. Here’s to victory. I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me!!

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

