The Weighting Game

I’m in week 2 of the 3-week don’t-weigh-yourself-challenge, and it’s hard! I keep thinking that when I finally do weigh myself, I’ll have gained weight or something. I wish I knew where I was number-wise right now, but then I think, should I need the scale to be the only motivation for continuing to eat healthy and exercise? No! It’s just the most visible motivation, I guess. I did starting taking my measurements at the end of February, and last week I lost 1 inch in my waist and 2 in my hips, so it’s not like I’m not making progress. And I’ve been amazingly consistent with my exercise; I’ve gotten in 6 days of exercise since I started, and that’s huge for me. What’s really scary? I’m starting to like it. The sense of accomplishment and pride I feel when I finish a workout and am nice and disgustingly sweaty is priceless (the sweaty I could do without, but alas, I sweat just looking at a piece of exercise equipment). I like knowing that I’m taking care of my body and making steps to make it healthier. I like knowing that my hard work will pay off. I like knowing that what I’m doing is not impossible.

But what I’m really waiting for is that moment: the moment when I know this is working, and I can continue making it work until I’m at the size I want to be, and I haven’t reached that moment yet. I’m not even sure what will precede the moment, but when it happens, I’ll know. I’ll know and I’ll rejoice.

2 thoughts on “The Weighting Game

  1. Erin,I’m proud of you for keeping up the exercising! Doesn’t it make you FEEL better??!! I try to get to the gym 3-4 times per week with 30 min. of cardio and 15 min. of weight training each time. I loosely follow a weight watchers eating plan. I’ve kind of figured out how to eat wisely after following it for a few months. Do you ever watch The Biggest Loser on tv? Kind of lame, but it really encourages me to keep exercising when I see those people lose so much weight!!! It really is true that the key to weightloss is smart eating and regular exercise. There is no magic bullet. Good luck!! 🙂

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

