Pep Talk Time!

I’ve officially lost 20 pounds, but I’ve been so busy I haven’t had time to really celebrate, and it took me 15 weeks to lose it, so I keep telling myself that I’m not making enough progress. This attitude is ridiculous of course because HELLO, I lost 20 pounds! The fact that I’m making progress at all, given my tendency to start projects and goals with lots of energy and then flake out after a week, is extraordinary for me. And some of my pants are getting to be somewhat absurd in their largeness; others are just starting to fit more like they should instead of being too tight. No more undoing the first button after a meal for me! Because I need to encourage myself to keep doing this, I’m going to list all of the things I’m doing right. I’ll worry about the wrong things later. πŸ™‚

1. I count my calories faithfully every day. Some days I may not get everything entered because I don’t have nutrition information for it, but most days I get everything entered.
2. I stay within my calorie range at least 5 days a week, if not 6. (I give myself one “splurge” day, so I never have a perfect week, but I’m okay with that because perfection is an impossible standard.)
3. I exercise every day but Sunday, if my general health allows it.
4. I opt for healthier snacks. I love eating grapes and oranges, and I just don’t buy things that I know I’ll only feel guilty about eating.
5. If I know I’m going to eat out, I plan what I’m going to eat ahead of time to see that I stay within my range. This practice is a bit more challenging when restaurants do not make their nutrition info readily available; I really think there should be legislation that requires restaurants to release this information to the public.
6. I watch my portions. If a serving size is 12 chips, I count out 12 chips. If it’s 1/2 cup, I’ll measure out half a cup. I do this especially with snacks because otherwise I would eat the whole bag of cheddar Chex Mix (130 calories for 1/3 cup!).
7. I try not to let the scale dictate how I feel about myself. I succeed at this probably 50 percent of the time, but that’s an improvement, so I’m counting it!

If these aren’t the marks of a healthier lifestyle, I don’t know what is. One of my reasons for doing this, if not the primary reason, is to be healthier, and I’m already achieving that. So if it takes me 20 years to lose those 80 pounds, at least I know that I’m healthier for having done this, and I’m taking care of the Lord’s temple in a way I’ve never done before. That makes it all worth it.

2 thoughts on “Pep Talk Time!

  1. Erin, it’s not that you’re not a favorite Union employee, it’s just that I keep forgetting that you are an employee and not a student…I think I’m in denial because it makes me feel old…I still love you oodles though! πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Hey, Cuz in Law πŸ™‚ Grandma was up at my mom’s (Debbie’s) for Emily’s baby shower and we were talking about you all…all good things, of course, and she mentioned you had a blog, which I knew, but I hadn’t stopped by in a while. Anyway, I am SO PROUD of you for dropping 20 pounds!! I know that’s a TOUGH thing. Between marriage and Matthew, I gained quite a bit of extra. I finally lost about 23 pounds in spring of 2006, so I know it’s not easy. I know it probably feels like you’re not losing it fast enough, but it sounds like you’re doing it healthy, which will combat putting it back on, so just remember, slow and steady wins the race πŸ™‚ You’ll get there. I have a lot of faith in you. Plus, if you don’t think it’s an accomplishment, try picking up and running with a 20 pound weight. It’s not that easy. I will keep your journey through this in my prayers. Tell Stephen I said hi πŸ™‚

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

