Time to Test My Self Control

Tomorrow Stephen and I are leaving for a little vacation to celebrate our anniversary, and while I’m really excited about getting away to St. Louis (and grateful that Stephen’s parents are taking care of Bailey for us), I’m incredibly anxious about the food we’ll be eating. We’ll be eating out for lunch and dinner every day, and I’m just wondering how in the world I’ll be able to stay in my calorie range every day. I’ve tried looking up nutrition information for some of the places I know we’ll eat, and I’ve made note of some options, but there are other places that don’t even have nutrition info posted. The good thing is the hotel where we’re staying has a 24-hour fitness center, so I’m determined to exercise every day we’re going to be there. We’ll also be doing a good deal of walking around and being outdoors, so I’m not worried about getting in enough cardio; I just hope I don’t blow it with the food!

The Summer 2008 Book Project has commenced. I went through the bookshelves and gathered all the books I have not read, and the total came to only 16, which was pleasantly surprising. I was thinking there were about double that amount. Here’s the list:

The Complete Fairy Tales by George MacDonald
Phantastes by George MacDonald
When Sinners Say I Do by Dave Harvey
Bleak House by Charles Dickens
Jude the Obscure by Thomas Hardy
The Return of the Native by Thomas Hardy
Middlemarch by George Eliot
Vanity Fair by William Makepeace Thackeray
Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy
Uncle Tom’s Cabin by Harriet Beecher Stowe
Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden
Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
Beloved by Toni Morrison
All the King’s Men by Robert Penn Warren

There are a few sad things about the list. First, I’ve tried to read about half of these at least once, if not more than once (I think I’ve attempted Anna Karenina 4 times), and I haven’t finished them. Second, the Dickens, Hardy, and Eliot books are ones I was supposed to read in the Victorian novel class I dropped after I got mono, and the Warren book I was supposed to read in the 20th century novel class, but I only made it halfway through. So I’ve had opportunity to read almost all of these books, but haven’t managed to, so that will make this little project all the more challenging (and all the more fulfilling). I’m taking the George MacDonald books on the trip with me because they’re ones I haven’t tried to read before, and I am really interested in his writing after reading The Light Princess.

Anyway, we’re off in the morning, so say a prayer for me if you think about it, and I’ll be back next Wed., hopefully not any heavier than I am now!

3 thoughts on “Time to Test My Self Control

  1. Erin I know you can handle STL… are you going to a Cards game? I don’t even know if they’re in STL right now…Anywho, I’m kinda jealous that you only have 16 books to read before you get to buy new ones…I think I’ve got more like 40 or 50…or 60…oh well. And Anna Karenina is so good so push through it 🙂

    Like

  2. wow, i LOVE Anna Karenina! One of my favorites. You’ve got a lot of reaaaaallly long books there, so good luck!!!!You’ll do great on vacation, too. Have fun!!

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

