Do Unto Others

I don’t do waiting well. I especially don’t do waiting well if I’m in a grocery store. I start swaying back and forth, huffing indignantly to myself, and criticizing people in my head. (Do you still like me?) And I always pick the worst checkout aisle. It can be an aisle with one person who only has a handful of items, and I’ll choose that one (of course) over the aisle with three people with loaded-down carts, but who ends up in the quicker line? The loaded-down carts group. Something always happens in my lane to slow down the process, whether it’s an item that won’t scan, a coupon that won’t scan, or a check that won’t clear. (Why do people even use checks anymore? They’re such a hassle!) This trip to Wal-Mart was no different; I found a lane that only had one couple in it. Their cart was quite full, but I figured it was the best bet since the other lanes (all 2 that were open) had several people in them. The couple was an elderly couple, and the man was slowly placing his items on the belt (emphasis on slowly). As I watched him pick up one item at a time and debate on where to put it, I started to get antsy. Couldn’t he grab more than one thing at a time? Did he have to be sooo slow? As I was chastising him in my head, he turned around and smiled sheepishly. “Sorry, ma’am, I just don’t move like I used to. I hope we’re not too much trouble.” Awww. I immediately smiled and said, “Oh, it’s okay, I’m not in a hurry.” I mainly said that just to be nice, but the thing is, I wasn’t in a hurry. I had no reason to be standing there huffing and puffing and getting all agitated at this sweet old man. What did it matter if I spent 5 more minutes in the grocery store? Why am I always in such a hurry? What am I hurrying to? Time on the Internet? Time in front of the TV? I chided myself and thanked the Lord for this check in my spirit, and I helped him put out the rest of his groceries.

As I left it occurred to me that I hope people will treat me with respect and patience when I’m older and can’t “move” like I do now. I am ashamed at how quickly I grow impatient, how easy it is for me to criticize instead of love, and I am thankful that God showed this to me through a man in a grocery store. I act like my time is such a valuable commodity, and yet I waste a lot of it doing things that aren’t important. May I learn to spend my time in ways that matter to the kingdom of God, in ways that show love and not hate, that build up and don’t tear down.

One thought on “Do Unto Others

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

