A Little Booky Goodness

I was tagged by Heather.

1. Hardback or trade paperback or mass market paperback? I prefer paperbacks, both because they’re cheap and because they’re more flexible, which makes for easier reading.

2. Amazon or brick and mortar? I love browsing bookstores, but I’ve probably bought most of my books online, mainly through half.com.

3. Barnes & Noble or Borders? Oooooh, Borders, how I miss thee! Knoxville had a Borders and a Barnes & Noble, and it was so fabulous, but then I moved to Jackson and all we have is a lowsy Books-a-Million, which I loathe, and a Waldenbooks, which is sorely lacking in selection.

4. Bookmark or dogear? Um, not sure if this is wise to admit or not, but I will dogear books if they come from the library, but if it’s a book I own or have borrowed from someone I know, I find a bookmark. Hehe.

5. Alphabetize by author or alphabetize by title or random? Very random, although I’m currently trying to decide how I’d like to arrange them. I’m considering alphabetizing by title or grouping according to subject. Any suggestions?

6. Keep, throw away, or sell? Throw away?? Are you kidding? I’m pretty sure it’s a sin to throw away books, unless they are completely falling apart and can’t be read any longer. I keep books, but I also will sell ones that I don’t think I’ll want to read again.

7. Keep dustjacket or toss it? Ugh, dustjackets are obnoxious. I always take them off while reading a book and then replace them later. I don’t have it in my to throw them away, however.

8. Read with dustjacket or remove it? See #7

9. Short story or novel? Novels, although I do enjoy short stories as well. Duh.

10. Collection (short stories by same author) or anthology (short stories by different authors)? I love anthologies because there is so much variety. I tend to gravitate towards those more so than collections.

11. Harry Potter or Lemony Snicket? Harry Potter, no contest. It doesn’t even matter that I haven’t read Lemony Snicket.

12. Stop reading when tired or at chapter breaks? Typically chapter breaks.

13. “It was a dark and stormy night” or “Once upon a time”? Definitely “it was a dark and stormy night,” but there’s nothing wrong with a nice, twisted fairy tale.

14. Buy or Borrow? I don’t usually borrow many books from friends, but I have no problem borrowing from the library (and then forgetting to return them). I do buy books, but not nearly as much as I used to.

15. New or used? Used if I can get it. I’m all about cheap.

16. Buying choice: book reviews, recommendation or browse? Book reviews? Blah. I go on recommendations a lot, or just browse the shelves.

17. Tidy ending or cliffhanger? A little of both, perhaps: I don’t want it to be so neat and tidy that there’s no room left for imagination, but I don’t want it to be completely open-ended. Some resolution (or denouement, to use of my favorite words) is needed.

18. Morning reading, afternoon reading or nighttime reading? I read most often in the late afternoon and evening.

19. Stand-alone or series? Stand-alone books, although I love a good series. I just hate waiting for the next one to come out, if it’s a series still being written.

20. Favorite series? Hmm, this is tough. Harry Potter, probably. Oh, or the Anne books. Yes, the Anne books, I think.

21. Favorite children’s book? Ooooh, this is tough, too! I love The Velveteen Rabbit, Where the Wild Things Are, The Giving Tree. For chapter books, I loved reading all of the Ramona books by Beverly Cleary, and the Anastasia series by Lois Lowry, along with Nancy Drew, Sweet Valley High, and the Baby-sitters Club. (There were a LOT of Baby-sitters Club books, and I owned almost all of them at one point, including the “super specials”. That’s pretty crazy. And oh my word, I just looked up the series, and there were some super specials that I definitely missed! And according to Wikipedia, Ann M. Martin didn’t write all of the books! I’m completely thunderstruck.)

22. Favorite book of which nobody else has heard? Stepping Heavenward by Elizabeth Prentiss. Has anyone read this book? I highly recommend it.

23. Favorite books read last year? I wish I could remember what I read last year…oh, The Kite Runner! I’m sure there are others, but I just can’t think of them. I need to keep better records.

24. Favorite books of all time? Pride and Prejudice (Austen), Jane Eyre (C. Bronte), Little Women (Alcott), Mere Christianity (Lewis), Redeeming Love (Rivers), The Eyre Affair (Fforde), Troilus and Criseyde (Chaucer), David Copperfield (Dickens), My Antonia (Cather), Invisible Man (Ellison), Lord of the Rings (Tolkien), the Harry Potter series (Rowling), the Anne and Emily series (Montgomery).

25. Least favorite book you finished last year? Hmm, I distinctly remember strongly disliking Sula by Toni Morrison. I just couldn’t stand the main character, and it’s difficult to like a book when you don’t like the main character at least a little bit.

26. What are you reading right now? Anne of Green Gables. It’s lovely to read again. I used to read several books at once, but lately I’ve just been loyal to one a time, and I find it much less stressful that way, haha.

27. What is your secret guilty pleasure book(s)? Hmm, perhaps the Shopaholic books by Sophie Kinsella. They’re “fluff,” but they’re hysterical fluff. I read them when I just need something fun. I also read a lot of Karen Kingsbury’s books.

28. What book have you always wanted to read but not had time to? Anna Karennina

29. What book do you hate the most that you’ve read all the way through? The Color Purple. Or Wuthering Heights. I know, I know, they’re classics, yada yada…

30. What are you reading next? Anne of Avonlea, probably. I’m also thinking about rereading The Time Traveler’s Wife and Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (to prepare for the movie).

If you made it all the way through this, congratulations! Feel free to fill it out if you want. (Lauren and Stef, I’d love it if you gals did!)

4 thoughts on “A Little Booky Goodness

  1. I forgot to write about Baby-sitters Club books in my survey! I read those obsessively too…but I was allowed to read them. But my mom got mad at me when I showed her my plan to start my own babysitting club. She said it was too much liability and that if I wanted to babysit, I could babysit my little brother for free. Haha. So, I didn’t really babysit for other kids until I went to college and started babysitting for the Lunsford family (math professor at Union). They have cute kids.Who was your favorite baby-sitter? I always liked Dawn and Stacey, even though Stacey was boy-crazy. Her stories were just always the most interesting. And Dawn was sweet, so I liked her. I probably liked the least-favorite ones of them all. I think most people like Kristy and Claudia (my sister was obsessed with Claudia and tried to dress like her, denim vests and pins and hats and stuff).I want to read the Eyre Affair, I’ve heard lots of good things about it. So many good books, so little time!

    Like

  2. thanks for the encouraging comment.. normally i’m not someone who just feels like throwing in the towel, i was just super emotional yesterday… but today is much better

    Like

  3. stargazer lilies Are so beautiful aren’t they? i love how they smell too. once at union i had one in the dorm that i’d been given by someone or other and i had a roommate allergic and i had to throw it out into the weather that it didn’t survive. isn’t that sad?

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

