It’s NEVER Too Late

Today has been rough; all week has been rough, actually. First came muscle pain and then came work-related stress, and today it all came together in a way that left me feeling drained, exhausted, and completely frustrated. So what did I do? I had a breakfast sandwich from McDonald’s, a piece of pumpkin pie, and several other less-than-stellar foods. Around 9 p.m. this evening I was feeling totally dejected and gross, since I haven’t worked out since Tuesday due to aforementioned muscle pain and stress, and I had just spent the day making poor food choices. But instead of heading back to the fridge for some more pie or some ice cream or whatever else happened to be tempting enough for me to eat (and right now it doesn’t take much to tempt me!), I stayed away. I stopped myself from believing the lie that if I’ve failed once today the whole day is a failure.

I will not be a failure. I will not.

So I did a 20-minute cardio workout, and while it wasn’t a lot and I’ve definitely pushed myself further at other times, it is what I needed today, right now, to remind myself that I am worth it. I am worth every minute spent bettering my body and saying no to wrong choices; I am worth every early morning workout and drop of sweat; I am worth every tear of frustration and victory; I am worth every pound and inch lost. I can do this; I am worth it.

It’s never too late to begin. The only way to fail is not to try at all.

One thought on “It’s NEVER Too Late

  1. You’re doing great Erin – just look at how far you’ve come – not at how far you want to go – pat yourself on the back everyday for your accomplishments and hey – don’t beat yourself up over the occasional sweet – as long as you keep perspective and don’t overdue – you will be fine. Keep up the good work.

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

