New Month, New Start

I had this whole whiny blog typed up about how I gained weight (1.4 pounds) during Thanksgiving break, and it was quite depressing and pathetic, so I deleted it. I’m not going to say that I’m not completely disappointed about the weight gain, but since it’s absolutely my fault for eating much more than I needed to, what can I do? I can wallow in self-pity (which I did for a while), or I can make a plan of attack for this month and resolve to learn from my Thanksgiving mistakes. I don’t need dessert with every meal. I don’t need seconds of my favorite foods. I don’t need snacks every two hours. These are things I learned, and I will NOT repeat my Thanksgiving mistakes at Christmas! I read somewhere recently that the average person gains 8 pounds over the holidays, and that is completely unacceptable to me. I will not be average!

Here are my goals:
–I will not gain any more weight this year.
–I will reach the 50 pounds lost goal. (2 pounds to go!)
–I will get to a total of 20% of my original weight lost (4 pounds to go!)
–I will say “no” to foods I will later regret eating.
–I will exercise even when I don’t want to (I did well with that over the break).
–I will not eat after dinner.
–I will not feel sorry for myself.
–I will not compare my weight loss with anyone else’s.
–I will celebrate small victories every day.
–I will walk a faster mile on the treadmill (need to beat 15:02) and on the elliptical (need to beat 9:35).

I am going to end this year with a bang, not a whimper. If I fall down seven times, I’ll get up eight!

5 thoughts on “New Month, New Start

  1. I actually don’t know what inspired it…I just decided that I needed to write a poem tonight, so I went to McAllister’s for their free wi-fi and sat there about three hours and decided I wanted to write a poem about cremation (??). So, I started with the line “I want to be cremated” and just went from there. 😛 I’ve been in the mood to write weird things lately…I agree with everybody else, your goals are amazing. I’m so impressed. I’m really bad at exercising and I’m not healthy because of it…thanks for being a great motivator. (It’s the teacher in you. :D)

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

