The Obligatory Post About New Year’s Resolutions

I’m not making resolutions, I’m making goals. I’m a fan of goals; I think it’s really important to have goals because otherwise there’s the possibility of ending up stagnant and unfulfilled. I’m determined to work at each of these goals, and I also hope to formulate monthly goals to accompany these larger goals. For now, here are goals I hope to achieve in 2009.

Personal Goals:

1. Memorize at least 20 passages of Scripture.
2. Read at least 20 books this year. (I know that’s a pitifully low number, but I honestly don’t have time to read a lot when I’m teaching.)
3. Be intentional about prayer. I will make a prayer list and spend time daily in prayer and Bible study.
4. Learn how to knit or crochet. I really want to learn how to do this, so I will find a way!
5. Find more ways to serve at church or in the community.
6. Blog at least 2 times a week.

Fitness/Weight Loss Goals:

1. Lose 50 more pounds
2. Get into a size 14 or 12
3. Lose 10 more inches from my waist
4. Go from the “obese” to “overweight” BMI range. (I’d like to be in the “healthy” range, but for me that’s at 155 at the highest, and I probably won’t go that low.)
5. Feel good in a bathing suit this summer!
6. Get rid of diet soda!
7. Aim for 1000 fitness minutes a month.
8. Walk a mile in 13:30.
9. Go from using mainly 8-pound dumbbells to 12-pound ones.
10. Build more muscle mass!
11. Measure out portions.
12. Think before I eat.

3 thoughts on “The Obligatory Post About New Year’s Resolutions

  1. I was so happy to click over to your blog and see all the progress you have been making. Doesn’t it feel great to start the new year off on the right foot. This is a wonderful feeling to start the new year off much lighter then last year. I look forward to continuing with the success of losing unwanted weight. I hope I can be an encouragement to you because you surely inspire me. Happy New Year – with love and support, Bren

    Like

  2. Pingback: Hello, 2016 | One Honest Mess

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

