Scale-ing Back

Yesterday I weighed in at 210! That means I’ve lost the weight I gained over the holidays and now have (re)lost a total of 51.4 pounds. I’m excited to see where I’ll be at the end of the month. I’m hoping to go from 212-207, but I’d love any weight loss I have.

I don’t know about everyone else, but I am a once-a-day weigher, and I’ve decided I need to stop. Some days it motivates me to work harder, but most days if I see a number I don’t like I just get mad or beat myself up all day for gaining even just a little amount. There is no real reason to weigh daily, so I’m going to try going a whole week without weighing. I was going to try for the whole month, but I thought I should start small. 🙂 So I pledge to myself and the 3 people who read this blog that I won’t weigh myself again until Monday, January 12. I will try to go 2 weeks after that and see what happens.

In the past when I’ve tried to “quit” the scale, I just got so worried about how I was doing and obsessing about whether or not I’d gained weight, but that thinking is silly. As long as I’m eating healthy and exercising regularly and practicing good habits, the scale should have no bearing on how I feel about myself or my progress, so I want to work more at celebrating my non-scale successes. Here are a few non-scale victories:

1. I’ve lost over 30 inches from my body since starting my weight loss journey.
2. I’ve lost 3 pants sizes. (Although this slightly bugs me b/c I feel like I should have lost more, but hey, I’ll take it!)
3. I’ve made exercise a habit and a permanent part of my daily routine.
4. I drink more water than I ever have in my life!
5. Whereas when I started I could only do about 5 minutes on the elliptical before wanting to collapse into a sweaty mess, now I can do 50 minutes or more before collapsing into a sweaty mess. (I don’t think I’ll ever be rid of the sweaty mess, unfortunately.)
6. I don’t get winded going up a flight of stairs.
7. I eat more fruit (and yesterday and today I will have gotten in my 5 servings of fruits and veggies, which is SO hard for me!)
8. I have more energy.
9. I watch my portions more.
10. I feel more confident about myself and my abilities in many areas of life.

With all of that, who needs the scale?

5 thoughts on “Scale-ing Back

  1. i weigh myself once a day too when i'm on a diet…but its sort of confusing, since sometimes i'll be 5 pounds heavier or lighter the next day! does this perhaps mean that my scale is wack? you sound so amazingly healthy! this year bryan and i are going to try to start being more healthy, as in actually working out & eating healthy foods. you're inspirational!

    Like

  2. I am sometimes obsessed with my progress according to the scale. I've lost 27 pounds now in 2 1/2 months, but I've hit a plateau. My husband loves to eat out, and restaurant food is my nemesis. You are a great inspiration for us weigh-losers! Now I'll start paying more attention to NSVs and not just the number on the scale.

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

