Favorite Workouts

I was asked if the workouts on my schedule are some of my favorites. I thought I’d share a list here, divided into categories, of DVDs and workouts I really enjoy. Many of these can be found on sites like eBay or half.com for pretty decent prices, and most are even under 10 dollars on Amazon.

Cardio DVDs:
1. 10 Minute Solution: Kickbox Bootamp: If you’re not familiar with the 10 Minute Solution DVDs, it’s a series of workouts divided into 5, 10-minute segments. You can choose your workouts, so you can do anywhere from 1 segment to all 5, depending on how much time you have. I really like this one because it combines kickboxing moves with sculpting using light weights. It’s also really challenging, which certainly is helpful.
2. CRUNCH Fat-Burning Dance Party Yes, it does say “dance” in the title. This is one of the first DVDs I bought, and while it’s not nearly as challenging as it used to be, it’s a great, fun workout, and I still enjoy pulling it out every now and then. I still probably look as idiotic doing it as I did when I first got it, but that doesn’t prevent me from having a good time and working up a sweat.
3. Dancing with the Stars: Cardio Dance: This DVD is also divided into 5, 10-minute segments, each with a different dance as its focus. (you can select how many you want to do, which is nice) My personal favorites are the cha cha, the samba, and the jive (although that last one is so difficult that sometimes I end up just jogging in place.) The cues in this DVD aren’t always easy to follow, which might be frustrating to some, but if I get flustered I just do something I know how to do until the instructors move on. Also, one of the dancers has an awfully annoying, overly cheerful voice that can sometimes grate on the nerves, but you can opt to do the workouts with just the music, which solves that problem. 🙂
4. Biggest Loser Workout, vol. 1: I love the show, and I also love this DVD. It has different workouts to choose from, with varying levels of difficulty, so you can mix and match them. Bob is a great trainer on the DVD and isn’t too annoying, which is a plus.
5. Leslie Sansone–Walk Slim 4 Fast and Firm Really Big Miles My husband can’t stand the instructor of this DVD, and she is rather perky, but I like her. She has a LOT of different in-home walking workouts that are perfect for the choreographically-challenged or those who want an uncomplicated workout that still burns calories. I like this 4 mile one because it is more advanced in that some of the miles also incorporate jogging or the use of a resistance band.

Strength Training DVDs:
1. Jillian Michaels’ 30 Day Shred: Sadly, I had to quit doing this workout because it is too tough on my knees, but if you need a quick, effective, and challenging workout, this is it. There are 3 levels on the DVD, and each level operates on a 3-2-1 system–3 minutes of strength training, 2 minutes of cardio, and 1 minute of abs, and she does these circuits 3 times in each workout. It may not sound like much, but believe me, it is TOUGH. The first time I did it, I could barely get through the whole thing, and it’s about 27 minutes from warm-up to cool down! I highly recommend it.
2. Biggest Loser Workout, Vol. 1: This is in the cardio section as well, but it includes some great strength training segments as well.
3. Biggest Loser Workout–Boot Camp: This is a recently-released DVD that I’ve only done 1 level of (there are 3 total, which you add over time), but I really like it. Bob leads the workouts, and they are a combination of cardio and strength training (the reason for this combination in this DVD and many others is that strength training and cardio combined offer maximum calorie burn).

Pilates:
1. CRUNCH Fat Burning Pilates: This workout combines standing Pilates legwork with traditional Pilates mat exercises and is very challenging and effective. The instructor of this workout, Ellen Barrett, is very personable and gives good cues. This workout, especially the standing portion, burns a decent amount of calories, too.
2. 10 Minute Solution: Slim and Sculpt Pilates These workouts utlize a resistance band (it comes with the DVD and is purple–woohoo!), which makes them more challenging and more effective, in my opinion. I really feel this the day after I complete the workout. It’s not a big calorie burner, but Pilates is a great way to tone muscle, and I also find it strangely relaxing.

If you don’t feel like spending money on workout DVDs, there are a lot of great, short workouts done by the fitness website I use, SparkPeople. They even have a YouTube channel with all of their videos, which you can use for FREE! The website itself has also been of tremendous help to me; had I not found it, I wouldn’t be tracking my food as diligently as I do, nor would I be as informed about health and fitness issues. It costs nothing to use, and if you’re looking to lose weight or live healthier, definitely check it out!

What are some of your favorite workouts? Any I should check out? I’m always looking for new ones to try!

2 thoughts on “Favorite Workouts

  1. Thanks for the suggestions. Val and I are winging it right now, but we know we probably need to pop in one of these DVDs to get proper training. I also started recording the Denise Austin workouts on ESPN classic every morning.

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

