January Progress, February Goals

Jan. starting weight: 212
Jan. ending weight: 204.6
Total lost: 7.4

The positives:

January is one of my best weight loss months so far! (I think only September was better.) After not losing much in November or December, I really got motivated and it paid off on the scale! I also think not weighing myself at much helped me gain a better perspective and not be so obsessed. Furthermore, I focused more on eating nutrient-rich foods instead of just considering all calories equal (news flash: a calorie is not just a calorie!). This is not to say that I don’t still eat junk sometimes because I do, but I feel like overall I’m making healthier eating choices, and that feels good. Measuring my food has also been incredibly helpful. I’ve found that some things I was overestimating and others I was underestimating, so now I know for sure what I’m eating and how much!

The not-so-positives:

I only lost about 3 inches total from my body. That discourages me. I was hoping that with all of the cardio and strength training, along with the Bootcamp videos, that I would lose much more. I only lost half an inch from my waist, which is an area I DESPERATELY want to lose inches from because that’s what determines what size I am. I’ve been the same size since October, and that’s really frustrating to me. I’m in an annoying in-between state, where some misses clothing fits but not all of it does, but most plus sizes clothes (tops, especially) are too big. I’m ready to be decisively out of the plus size range! I don’t know what to do differently to get these inches off, though. If anyone has an suggestions, I would LOVE to hear them! I’m kind of at my wits’ end about it, and I don’t like how my lack of lost inches detracts from all the success I have had.

All of that being said, here are my goals for February:

1. Exercise for at least 1200 minutes this month.
2. Burn a minimum of 2800 calories a week.
3. Drink 80 oz. of water daily.
4. Consume at least 60g of protein daily.
5. Get weight below 200!
6. Ab work 3 times a week.
7. Continue measuring portions.

Items 1-3 and 7 were ones I worked on in January, and I want to continue to strive for them while adding new things. The protein is a big one, as I have struggled to get enough protein, but now that I’m actively focusing on it, I’m having a lot of success with it! I joined a team that asks you to challenge yourself to work on something health-related for 100 days, and the protein is what I chose.

So there it is. Here’s to a happy, healthy February!

2 thoughts on “January Progress, February Goals

  1. Can you get too much protein? I read somewhere that people with gall bladder issues are supposed to avoid a high protein diet, but then I got confused about nutrition in general…

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

