No Power Except that which Is Given

Even though I planned to weigh in tomorrow morning, I opted for today instead because I knew hubby and I were going out for lunch today, so I didn’t want to risk seeing a higher number on the scale tomorrow because I ate too much pizza. Sneaky, huh? I weighed in at 202 on the dot, which is a total loss of 59.4 pounds! I really wish I could say it were exactly 60, but at this point I’m so excited to be close to kissing the 200s goodbye that I don’t care too much. I have no doubt that when I weigh in again at the end of the month, I’ll see a number that begins with a 1, and I will do a little happy dance right there in the bathroom. πŸ™‚

It may be hard for me to wait until the end of the month to weigh again, but I’m going to try my best so that I don’t get wrapped up in the scale again. It’s been really freeing to weigh less often, and I find myself less stressed by weigh ins in general, and that’s definitely good for my mental and emotional health. Even though I will be beyond thrilled to see a number under 200 pounds when I weigh again, I know that I’m more than a number on a scale. The number can fluctuate on a daily or even hourly basis, so why let my self-worth be determined by it? I look at the other changes I have made in my life to know I’m moving in the right direction. I am through with letting that number define me. Why do we get so wrapped up in what the scale says? It’s not as if we go around with that number plastered on our foreheads, and it’s not as if it is our sole means of identity. No one even knows that number unless you share it, and even then it’s not as though it will turn away those who truly love and care for you. The value of a person is measured not in pounds. So while people may read my blogs and judge me because I let myself get to 261 pounds, I’m not concerned about what those people think. I have better things to do with my time, and I’ve spent too many wasted years beating myself up, all the while doing nothing but continuing to eat the same junk food day in and day out. That changed last January, and I am through with pity parties and excuses. I want to make each day count and live each day in such a way that pleases God, not men.

“So teach us to number our days that we may get a heart of wisdom.” (Psalm 90:12)

5 thoughts on “No Power Except that which Is Given

  1. its so hard not to care what people think—i second everyone else in saying that you are such an inspiration! Bryan and i did all our celebrating on Wednesday since it was our year and a half and since we were both off of work/school all day. he works all weekend so we won’t do much of anything then. what about y’all, big date plans?

    Like

  2. I don’t know you, but I’m so proud of you! I’m working on my weight, too, and I too am a Christian. Best, best wishes to you.Also, I tagged you on my 2/14 blog if you’re into that sort of thing. πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. After everything that you’ve accomplished, anyone who would judge you for “letting yourself get to 261 pounds” would be crazy. Good job, Erin, and congratulations in advance for seeing a 1 as the first number at your next weigh-in! πŸ™‚

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

