Life Lately

The Good…

1. I went shopping on Sunday for new pants (I got tired of people saying to me, “Your pants are too big.”), and I am now in a size 16! (Well, in some brands anyway, but that’s a rant for another post.)

2. I have been getting up just 2 minutes after my alarm goes off. This is a HUGE development, as I have been staying in bed for about 20 minutes after my alarm goes off. This Monday I told myself I was going to get up quickly, and I did, and then I did it again today. I’m determined to make this a habit.

3. Because I’ve been getting up earlier, I’ve been able to go to the gym and workout, which is good because I burn more calories on the cardio machines there than at home.

4. I am staying on top of things I need to do for school, so there’s been not as much last minute planning. It helps that this is the 5th time I’ve taught this course (in less than 2 years!).

5. I am in love with fruit! I crave it, especially grapes and tangerines and clementines.

The Not-So-Good…
1. I peaked at the scale on Monday morning, and I’m UP half a pound from the last time I weighed! I’m not even sure I want to weigh in again on Saturday to see my month-end weight, since now I feel that there’s little hope of being below 200 pounds, but I need to do it, if only to slap myself back into shape.

2. I’ve been rather lax with the eating. I have had too much movie theater popcorn and pizza lately. Both of those are foods I could eat for days, and I need to recognize that and exert more willpower. All the exercise in the world won’t matter if I eat my weight in junk!

3. I am out of a job come summer, and this stresses me out just slightly. And by “slightly” I of course really mean “extremely”.) I’m trying to trust, though.

Well, what do you know, the good outweighs the bad! Life, it seems, is good. 🙂

7 thoughts on “Life Lately

  1. Do you have any ideas for what you want to do after this semester? More school or maybe a teaching job somewhere else? It’s kind of sad that they only keep on adjuncts for two years at Union (that’s what you are right? An adjunct professor?). They should have some kind of reward system where if you do a really good job, you get a full-time faculty position. 🙂 You seem like an awesome teacher…do you think you’ll keep teaching? I am thinking of starting blogging again…I’ll let you know if I do!

    Like

  2. Heather, I’m actually a visiting professor, which is different from an adjunct because I’m considered full time, get a yearly salary instead of a per-course salary, and I have benefits. And no, I don’t really have a clear idea of what I want to do. There aren’t many other teaching prospects around here, at least not college level, so I’m trying to figure out what else I could do. Please do let me know if you start blogging again!

    Like

  3. i know what you mean about being out of a job…i’ll be praying for you, that you find something awesome and even better than union (if that’s possible?) really fast! as for italy, my MFA program just started a travel abroad scholarship this semester—they pay for Everything, classes, food, hotel, airfare, everything—and there’s 4 of us that have applied, and only 2 get to go… i’ll find out on monday if i’ll be spending a summer in Italy or not!

    Like

  4. Yes, it’s totally a British thing, which weirds me out because it just looks wrong to an American, you know? You should read the Princess books, especially the first one- you could read it in a day or two, I promise!

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

