Friday Five: Healthy Snacks

Obviously, if you’re trying to lose weight consuming mass quantities of Oreos and Doritos is not the solution. It’s really important to find healthy snacks because they can affect your energy levels and your caloric intake. Here are 5 of my favorites:

1. Almonds. Nuts like almonds are a great source of heart-healthy fats, plus they have a good dose of fiber, protein, and Vitamin E. Limit yourself, though; a small amount of almonds goes a long way.

2. Clementines. What’s not to love about these cute, portable-friendly fruits? They are ridiculously easy to peel and therefore are great for keeping at your desk and within arm’s reach when you get hungry.

3. Skinny Cow Chocolate Fudge Cone. This is my newest discovery, and besides being DELICIOUS, this 150 calorie treat satisfies my sweet tooth and has 3 grams of fiber! Fiber is your friend, people. (But I will say that consuming too much of it can have some adverse effects. You have been warned.)

4. Peanut butter on whole wheat toast. Mmm, peanut buttery goodness is hard to beat, and putting a tablespoon on two slices of Healthy Life 100% whole wheat bread (5 grams of fiber per serving!) hits the spot.

5. FiberPlus Antioxidants Chocolate Chip Chewy Bar. (Are you noting the fiber trend?) I used to be all about the FiberOne bars, but then I realized they, like practically every other packaged food on the planet, contain high fructose corn syrup. Then Kellog’s created this tasty bar that happens to contain NO HFCS and has 20 fewer calories than FiberOne bars, so I was hooked! One of these tastes like a Samoa Girl Scout cookie without the guilt. Yummy!

What are your favorite snacks?

9 thoughts on “Friday Five: Healthy Snacks

  1. I have to echo a lot of the ones you have listed. I love to grab a handful of nuts when I’m hungry…my choice nuts are peanuts, however. 🙂 I love peanut butter and whole wheat bread…I actually was eating a slice while I was reading your blog entry! Raw carrots are yummy to me. I also love Carnation Instant Breakfast, which is basically a powder mix to add to milk. It tastes like chocolate milk but is so much healthier! It’s a great start to the day…and I confess I have it sometimes as a snack, too. 🙂 Possibly my most favorite snack is sliced French bread sprinkled with shredded cheddar, broiled in the oven for about three minutes, and then dipped in Italian dressing…mmmm!

    Like

  2. I'm a bad snacker, even if most are the “100 calorie pack” kind. I still enjoy a couple of little bags of Baked Ruffles with some salsa. Not too many WW points, and I get my chip & dip fix, which is very important. Probably too important!

    Like

  3. My five favorite snacks run along the Oreos and Doritos lines, so I think I’ll just say that I really like your snacks. Clementines are the best. Will have to check out that fudge cone. Hmmm…

    Like

  4. I am sold on those FiberPlus bars. I am going out to buy them today (ok, the next time I go to the store) so I can see if they taste like the girl scout cookieness that I so love!

    I agree with you completely on the clementines! MMMMmmmmm

    Like

  5. A healthy Samoa cookie. I’ll have to check those out.

    If you like bananas, my kids and I LOVE banana dogs. Basically, I take a piece of wheat bread or a whole wheat hot dog bun, spread peanut butter on it and stick a banana in – just like a hot dog.

    So yummy. Kind of a salty sweet combo.

    We also like ovaltine, smoothies, crackers with peanut butter or ritz crackers with pepperoni slices and cheese.

    Like

  6. Clementines are sooo great!! I am a huge fan. I’ll definitely have to check out the Skinny Cow stuff. I’m trying to slim down and tone up my body but it’s been difficult over these last few months. It’s good to come to your site and feel encouraged!

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

