Milestones and Marine Adventures

I’m back from the paper-grading wasteland! I’ve actually been done grading papers since Thursday, but I rather enjoyed the bloggy break.

While I was gone from the blogging world, I hit another weight loss milestone: 70 pounds lost! Woohoo! That is a lot of weight, and I am so proud of how far I’ve come. Sunday at church a woman whom I’ve talked to on several occasions asked me if I was new at church. Turns out she didn’t recognize me. She said, “You’re not even the same person!” That is true in a lot of different ways, I suppose. The old me didn’t care about being healthy or exercising. The old me felt miserable in her body but helpless to change it. The old me hated shopping for clothes. The old me couldn’t run up the stairs without getting winded, much less run a 5k. It’s amazing the difference 16 months can make!

This Saturday morning, my husband and I are leaving to go to Orlando, Florida for vacation. I am so excited! We are going to visit the one place besides Italy that I have wanted to go to for a long time: SeaWorld! I have loved dolphins and other marine life since I was a child, so obviously SeaWorld is a dream destination for me. We got a great deal at this hotel, and our stay includes passes to SeaWorld and its water park, Aquatica, for the length of our stay, so we will definitely go to SeaWorld at least twice! We’re also planning to visit Animal Kingdom because Stephen gets in free on his birthday. And in an exciting, last minute turn of events, we’re going to see the Orlando Magic play in Game 1 of the NBA finals (it is the finals right, honey?) against the Cleveland Cavaliers! The Magic are Stephen’s favorite pro team, and we couldn’t pass up the chance to see them play in a championship game when we were going to be in the city at the same time.

So with the exception of my soon-to-be jobless state, things are good. (And if you hear of anyone who’s hiring, let me know!)

7 thoughts on “Milestones and Marine Adventures

  1. Oh, I just know you’re going to have an awesome time in Orlando!! 🙂 You’ve got lots of fun things lined up! Enjoy the vacation–you deserve it!! Congrats on hitting 70lbs lost! That’s so awesome that someone didn’t even RECOGNIZE you. Wow.

    Like

  2. I am so excited for your trip! (and mine! i also leave on Saturday–but we’ve decided to spend our time in Daytona) I didn’t know that you were leaving your job! I’ll be praying for something new for you. And congrats to 70 pounds lost! You have inspired me to get off this computer now and get on my gazelle! 😉

    Like

  3. I’m glad you’re back. I missed the list on Fridays…

    You have got to watch those movies I posted. I feel like you would really like them 🙂

    Have fun in Orlando and please enjoy Disney for me…I’m probably going next May. WHOO HOO!

    Like

  4. YEAH! You are going to have a great time! Enjoy it! And congrats on the 70! Have fun in the sun! It’s winter here now and the sun is never out. Let me know how it feels.

    Like

  5. That is probably one of the best compliments anyone could get! congrats on hitting another milestone!

    I saw your counter said ‘0 days’. Enjoy your vacation!

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

