June Goals Checkup: Week 1

June SW: 194
June CW (as of Monday morning): 189.6
Loss of 4.4 pounds in week 1

WHAT?? I couldn’t believe it when I saw that on the scale! I lost all my vacation weight and a little extra. Woohoo! I hope it’s not a crazy fluke. It very well could be, as I was 191.2 on Friday, so I lost 1.6 pounds over the weekend? Hmm…I just won’t check the scale for a while. Haha.

Now, on to check the progress of my June goals. I decided that I like having monthly goals, so I am just going to be better about remembering them, and checking in once a week should do the trick.

Progress so far:
1. Run, bike, or walk at least 18 miles a week. Week 1: 21.4 miles! DONE!
2. Stay within my calorie range 6 out of 7 days a week. Week 1: I stayed in range 5 out of 7 days, which is an improvement, but I can do better.
3. Strength train at least twice a week. Week 1: DONE. I have to confess that my second session was pretty half-hearted, however, so this week the plan is to give it 100%!
4. Lose 4 pounds. I’d like to lose more, but will be happy with 4. Week 1: DONE! New goal: Lose 3 additional pounds (I’m not expecting any other crazy weight losses).
5. Read 3 books: one I’ve already read, one fiction, and one non-fiction. I should easily accomplish this since I am only teaching one class this month. Week 1: I’m re-reading Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix so I can re-read HP and the Half-Blood Prince next month in preparation for the movie. I have about 100 pages left, then I will start on a book called Running Scared: Fear, Worry, and the God of Rest. Not that I need to read that because I never worry. Right. 😉

All in all, week 1 was a fantastic week! I even ran 5 days out of the week, which is a new record for me, and Thursday’s run was a 10:58 average pace. I’m feeling good and kickin’ some June butt!

How are you doing with your goals?

7 thoughts on “June Goals Checkup: Week 1

  1. You'll have to tell me how “Running Scared: Fear, Worry, and the God of Rest” is. You're inspiring me to make weekly goals. Too bad I failed goal number one. Cook 2-3 nights a week. I know I have 5 nights left this week, but I have plans 4 of those 5 nights. Keep up the good work.

    Like

  2. that's amazing!! congrats, that weight came right off! i wish i were as dedicated as you…i've been a little better this summer about exercising, i started doing a toning video about 4 times a week and bryan and i are going jogging every other day. i've had trouble cutting back on junk food though…i'm trying to better this week, last week was Bad!

    Like

  3. Im not doing so hot with my goals. I need to figure out some more concrete steps!

    I always admire what you accomplish, even if you dont always meet your goals 100%. The fact that you revisit them and determine where you stand is awesome. I, too often, dont do that!

    Did you choose the next book at least in part because of your job situation? Have you had any luck with anything yet?

    Like

  4. Sarah, I actually bought that book around Christmas time, but I did think that now would be a good time to read it. I haven't found a new job yet, but I am waiting to hear back about one possibility. I'm just trying to trust that something will turn up, but it's hard.

    Like

  5. When I've dieted I have noticed that times I hit a plateau, if I had a “free” weekend, then got back on the diet the next week, I'd lose a few more pounds than usual to get over the hump. Maybe that vacation helped!

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

