Friday Five: Memorable Childhood Movies

Well, July has been quite interesting so far. I’ve had a nasty cold/sinus thing since Monday evening, and therefore I have not gotten a decent night’s sleep since Sunday evening. On the positive side, Stephen’s parents came to visit on Wednesday, and we’ve had a great time shopping, watching movies, and playing Yahtzee. (I won! Woohoo! I enjoy winning.)

Anywho, this will be a quick Friday Five, so here ya go: 5 movies I watched multiple times during my childhood (which I will define as spanning from age 5-12. I can’t remember much from any age prior to 5). The films are listed in chronological order, beginning with the earliest release. Obviously, since I wasn’t born until 1981, I saw some of these years after they originally came out.

1. The Great Muppet Caper (1981) and The Muppets Take Manhattan (1984). Yes, these are two separate films, but I couldn’t pick just one of them! I loved the muppets and adored these movies. Total classics.

2. The Tale of the Bunny Picnic (1986). Does anyone else remember this? Technically it’s not really a movie because it is only an hour long and was aired on HBO, but still, I remember watching it so much I’m sure I wore out the VHS tape! I believe it’s one of the few films in which a dog plays the nemesis.

3. Beauty and the Beast (1991). Oh my word, I thought Belle was me captured in animation! I just loved that she was a bookworm and cared about being smart and was loyal to her father and looked with distaste upon Gaston even though he was brawny and attractive. I remember many an afternoon when I would dance around the living room singing, “Little town, it’s a quiet village. Every day, like the one before…”

4. Aladdin. I knew every word of this movie and especially enjoyed acting out “One Jump Ahead” and “Friend Like Me,” and of course, “A Whole New World.” I’ve gotta say, they just don’t make Disney movies like they used to.

5. Free Willy (1993). What can I say? This girl was one huge whale lover after seeing that movie. Plus, the boy in the lead role was HOT. (When I looked this movie up on IMDB, I saw that it has increased in popularity by 266%. Could that be because Michael Jackson contributed songs on the soundtrack?)

Honorable Mentions: The Care Bears Movie (Who can defeat the “Care Bear Stare?”); The NeverEnding Story (what’s not to love in a movie featuring a flying doglike dragon creature?); Snoopy Come Home (How sad is this movie?? I don’t know why it was my favorite Peanuts movie, but it was.)

What movies did you watch over and over when you were a kid?

5 thoughts on “Friday Five: Memorable Childhood Movies

  1. i LOVE all of those (except the bunny movie which i have not heard of…we did not have hbo) i also thought the free willy boy was super cute. and my grandpa take all these episodes of the muppet show for us– i love anything muppets! childhood movies are the best!!

    Like

  2. Weren't there 3 Free Willy movies? We totally owned them all. I loved them as well!

    I dont think I could even narrow it down to 5 movies!

    One that a lot of people dont know of that I still love is Ferngully. I really want to get a copy of that again – we wore out the VHS we had!

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

