The Tyranny of the Scale

(First, welcome to any visitor’s from Annie’s Blog! I’m honored that you stopped by.)

Tomorrow’s the end of the month. Where in the world did July go?? I’m not gonna lie, I am not looking forward to tomorrow. Wanna know why? End of the month weigh-in. I took a peek at the scale yesterday, and it was not exciting news. I am afraid of getting on that scale tomorrow and seeing 1) a gain or 2) the same weight I started with this month. Neither of those possibilities is ideal to me at all, and I do not like that all of a sudden, after months of feeling freedom from the scale and its power to sway my emotions, I am dreading a weigh-in.

When I first started this weight loss journey, I weighed myself every day, sometimes multiple times a day. I was obsessed with seeing the number on that scale go down, and if it did, then my day was blissful! Seeing a loss was as good as eating a piece of chocolate, so great was the boost in my mood. But if I didn’t see a loss, my day was ruined (and I weighed first thing in the morning, so that’s a lot of ruined hours). I went through the whole day feeling miserable and analyzing everything I had done the previous day, trying to figure out why I had gained weight. It was torturous!

So back in January, I decided to scale back with my weigh ins (excuse the horrendous pun). I started out by going a week between weigh-ins, and then I tried 2 weeks, and it was great! I lost weight, I felt better about myself, and I wasn’t constantly think about that little number on the scale! The early months of the year continued in this way, and yet here I find myself revisiting old territory.

I have to remember that I am MORE than a number on the scale. I am a daughter of the Most High God, and He DELIGHTS in me! ME. Just as I am. God is far more concerned with how I am doing in my relationship with him than how I am doing with weight loss. And yet if I make an idol out of the scale, then that too affects my relationship with God. One thing I never counted on is just how spiritual this whole journey is, and every time I allow negativity and apathy and gluttony to reign, I am letting the enemy win and showing that I don’t believe that God is who He says He is. I want to believe. I choose God’s truth over the power of the scale. I choose to be thankful for who I am BEYOND what the scale says, for all I’ve been given that has nothing to do with what I weigh. I choose to be grateful for a husband who found me beautiful at 261 pounds and finds me beautiful today.

One of my favorite verses is Galatians 5:1 which says, “It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery.” I will not be a slave to the scale. I choose freedom. What about you?

9 thoughts on “The Tyranny of the Scale

  1. I'm from Annie's blog too. Do not beat yourself up. Try to be gentle with yourself… and whatever happens, happens. You are trying to be healthier and take better care of yourself… the number on the scale and less important than eating well, getting exercise, and being kind to yourself.

    I struggle with this too. I am a perfectionist and I can't stand to think that I've slipped up. Not just in terms of weight, but in any area of my life.

    I wonder if you find you're like that in other areas too? The trick is trying to cultivate a friendship with yourself. Sounds cooky doesn't it? I've been to therapy, and my counselor constantly wanted me to focus on being gentle with myself… and to treat myself the way I'd treat a friend.

    How might that be for you? Treating yourself like you would your best friend? Would that make a difference when you stepped on the scale?

    Like

  2. You can do it Erin…I know you can as you have God's mighty power on your side. The scale is just a box that we think we have to step on to make us feel good. We must remember not to let that box with numbers have a hold on us but we need to stand firmly in Gods word.

    I love the new background and I still smile when I see your face pop up. You have a beautiful smile.

    I'm not sure where July went but I'm still waiting for summer to come to MN. We have had a cool summer….at least for those that don't have anymore body fat on them.

    Like

  3. I simply can not believe this!!
    I used to follow you months and months ago. I'm pretty sure we even used to comment with each other although you may not remember. You were so nice and I just loved you!
    Then I “started over” and without thinking deleted all my posts, along with your link! For months I've been trying to find you, wondering how you were, and I go to Annie's blog today and who do I see??!
    How crazy is that??

    Like

  4. I'm new to your blog but I would like to think God directed me here. Your words so touched my heart.

    I know you will reach your goal. Thank you for helping to pick me up so that I too, will reach mine.

    God bless you!

    Like

  5. I can relate the scales problem. They are not my friend. If the scales are up, then I'm down. If they are down, then I'm up, but that also had a negative effect sometimes. Then I get lazy. It's a roller coaster for sure! Great post! I'm always inspired when I come here.

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

