Friday Five and July Goals Report

Friday Five: Favorite Power Ballads

Any child of the 80s remembers the power ballads and hair bands, and here is my list of favorite power ballads. And if some of these don’t fit your definition of power ballad, then make your own list. 😉

1. Journey, “Faithfully” (one of my favorite songs of all time)
2. Foreigner, “I Want to Know What Love Is”
3. Firehouse, “When I Look Into Your Eyes”
4. REO Speedwagon, “Keep on Loving You”
5. Bad English, “When I See You Smile”

Honorable Mentions: “Can’t Fight This Feeling” by REO Speedwagon, “I’ll Be There for You” by Bon Jovi, “Open Arms” by Journey

Now, my July goals…

July starting weight: 189.8
July ending weight: 188.4
LOSS of 1.4 pounds for the month

That is less than stellar. I’m not gonna lie, I’m disappointed. BUT at least I didn’t gain, and I didn’t stay the same. I am just frustrated, I guess.

Fitness/Health goals:
1. Burn at least 2500 calories a week. DONE. 3662 calories burned. How did I burn that many and not lose more weight?? And that only includes last Wednesday until this Tuesday. Goal 100% met for the month.

2. Run 2 miles 3 times a week. DONE. I finally pushed past the 2 mile barrier and ran 3 miles on Tuesday. Goal 100% met for the month.

3. Stay within my calorie range 6 of 7 days. For the month, I did not do well with this, but I did do well with this the last week.

4. Strength train at least 2 times a week. DONE. I finally had a week where I did this twice! Overall, however, this was the only week I achieved the goal.

Personal goals:
1. Read 3 books. 2/3 COMPLETE. I read The Time Traveler’s Wife and Better Runs, but I did NOT finish the book on worry. Sigh.

2. Memorize 3 Scripture passages. FAIL. I really dropped the ball on this one. There is no excuse.

3. Organize the bookshelves. DONE. I finished this project, and I’m so glad it’s done! It was not fun moving all the books around, but I’m glad they are all organized now.

4. Organize the closets, particularly the master bedroom closet. DONE.

This month was really a mixed bag, and it was a difficult month. I battled varying illnesses for the first 3 weeks, and I struggled with being depressed over my lack of a job, but I am glad that I was able to accomplish some of my goals. I wish I had done better. I only met half of my fitness goals and half of my personal goals, and I need to work on that. Perhaps I just had too many goals. Maybe I’ll narrow it down to 6 goals or fewer for August. I’ll post those goals on Monday.

I’d love to hear what your favorite power ballads are or what your goals for August are!

12 thoughts on “Friday Five and July Goals Report

  1. I think you did a wonderful job, Erin. And 1.4 pounds is 1.4 pounds. Be proud of your activity too…that is awesome.

    As for the organizing of bookshelves–I'm desperate to do this. Maybe even tomorrow. What was your organizing scheme? (By the way, The Time Traveller's Wife is one of my top five. Did you like it?)

    Like

  2. faithfully is my favorite ever!!! i love it and i think you have done really well on your goals! i desperately need to organize my bookshelves as well…there are so many..and i need a bigger one for the cookbooks. oh dearie.

    Like

  3. Ooh good goals. And I love The Time Traveler's Wife, what did you think?
    My goals for August include making the most of family holidays, various craft projects and lots of reading!

    Like

  4. I really enjoyed The Time Traveler's Wife. It was my second time to read it, and while it seemed a little long in places and I could have done without some of the language, I love the story. I hope the movie is good!

    Like

  5. Hi again! You know I still can't get over this. To answer your question, I had the same blog, but I think I changed my “name”, so it would look different. And like I said, I deleted everything (numerous times) like an idiot. I just hunted through your old posts and found I think the very 1st comment I left you on July 14, 2008. Crazy!

    Like

  6. All of those ballads are good, and I can't help but add a few more of my faves:

    “Every Rose Has Its Thorn” – Poison
    “Is This Love” – Whitesnake
    “Carrie” – Europe
    “To Be With You” – Mr. Big
    “Heaven” – Warrant
    “Don't Know What You Got (Til It's Gone)” – Cinderella

    My goals for August all revolve around getting ready for our baby: design the nursery, organize all the stuff that used to be in that room, and start losing weight and exercising so in about, oh, 10 months, I'll be able to keep up with him when he starts crawling!

    Like

  7. I was totally singing some of those songs as I read the titles! You picked out some great ones!

    If I may be critical for a moment, I think you answered some of your own questions. You mentioned that you did well at burning more than 2500 calories a week, but you also mentioned that you didnt do well with sticking in your calorie range. I know you have already posted your goals (but I havent read them yet), but perhaps you should consider just focusing on those 2 things in a month. One without the other will always lead to weight loss numbers you dont like.

    I totally understand what you mean about lack of routine. I am trying to keep myself to somewhat of a schedule – up by 9, do work throughout the day so that I can hang out with Jim when he gets home. But it seems a lot of my plans of getting things done are getting screwed up because everyone knows Im not working! I feel like I havent accomplished anything these past 2 weeks, and it sucks!

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

