The Importance of Accountability

This morning I did NOT want to run. When the alarm went off at 7:30, I promptly shut it off and stayed in bed, relishing the soft sheets and cold air. Then hubby, dear sweet hubby, came in and pulled off aforementioned soft sheets and made me get up. How cruel is he? 🙂 But he knew I had planned on running this morning, and he knew I would regret it if I didn’t, so he did his part to get me out of the bed. And then after I had eaten breakfast and was STILL lounging around in my workout clothes, he pulled me up out of the chair and wouldn’t leave me alone until I started heading for the door.

That, my friends, is what accountability can do. Had I been by myself, had I not shared my goals with my husband, there’s a very good chance I would have given myself a free pass on exercise for the day. But instead I ended up going outside in the unseasonably cool and non-humid weather, and I ran 4 miles and walked 1.2!

I think it is so important to let others in on your goals, whether they’re weight-related or otherwise. My husband has been my greatest accountability partner in many areas beside weight loss, and he continually motivates me to be a better person. And not only has my husband been a source of encouragement and motivation, but writing this blog has done the same. I was initially hesitant about sharing all of the dirty details of my weight problem and attempts to lose weight, but I am so glad I did because being transparent has kept me honest and on track on days when I didn’t feel like it. Blogging about an exercise plan or a fitness goal helps ensure that I will actually attempt to meet those goals, and knowing that I’ll have to own up to a day of bad eating or laziness causes me to think twice about those acts. Yes, I still have imperfect days, but I think had I kept my weight loss goals to myself, I would have a whole lot more of those imperfect days.

So the surest way to guarantee that you will work at losing weight or running a 5k or learning a new skill or being consistent with Bible reading is to tell people about it. Make it public. Encourage your friends and family to ask you about your endeavors regularly. Find someone else who has a similar goal and ask them to join you in your pursuit. Start a blog about it. The more you announce your goals, the more you’ll intentionally pursue them.

It worked for me, anyway. 🙂

11 thoughts on “The Importance of Accountability

  1. An online friend and I decided just last week to keep each other accountable by emailing our goals at the beginning of the week, and then encouraging each other and finding out how we're doing. I can't say that I've done fantastic, but I can say that I've done better than without anyone to fill in on the dirty details. 🙂

    Like

  2. So so proud of you!
    I've been struggling with the same thing… I've been wanting to get up and go walk with my mom at church m-th, she walks before work at 7:30, but I've been a slacker and today I finally did it. And it felt great! So we're in the same boat.
    So glad you got up and now you're feeling great!!!!

    Like

  3. I totally agree with the accountability thing – my problem is that my partners are a bit lackadaisical in their duties sometimes, lol. And yeah, I am totally about The Eyre Affair, I just finished The Well of Lost Plots and am ready for the next one.

    Like

  4. Erin – I'm sorry I missed this post. It's wonderful that your husband is so supportive of your efforts to get healthier!

    John was always supportive as well, although sometimes he got confused as to why I wanted to exercise!! “Why bother” he thought.

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

