Friday Five: The Fruit Edition

This post brought to you by the tasty fruit in my fridge. šŸ™‚ One thing that wasn’t hard to do once I started trying to lose weight was eat fruit. I can’t say the same for veggies, but I love fruit and enjoyed it even before changing my eating habits. If I am craving something sweet, I often will eat some fruit as a way of satisfying that craving without sacrificing my health. Fruit is tasty, portable, and for the most part requires little in the way of preparation. Basically, it’s perfect.

Here are my favorites:

1. Grapes. I could eat grapes every day and never get tired of them. Green grapes, red grapes, I don’t care. They are delicious.

2. Nectarines. There is almost nothing like a sweet, juicy nectarine (unless I’m eating grapes instead). I also think it is a beautiful fruit.

3. Strawberries. Strawberries are best when they are fresh, but we buy frozen sometimes as well. I used to eat them with sugar, but now I love them just as they are.

4. Plums. I recently rediscovered my love for plums. I can’t believe I forgot how good they taste!

5. Kiwis. Kiwis are kind of a pain to eat because of the skin, but I love the flavor.

Honorable mentions: Oranges and apples (Gala apples are my favorite)

What are your favorite fruits?

10 thoughts on “Friday Five: The Fruit Edition

  1. I love most fruit. My favorite is Pink Lady Apples – they are close to Gala but I just like them better. And they have to “feel” perfect before I buy them. I actually have to touch my apples before I buy them and if they feel wrong, I move on – weird… I know.
    Next I Love Mango's but they are so darn hard to cut up and are a bit too sweet. I have to have a banana every day because my legs cramp if I don't. Strawberries are in there too! Hmmmm I probably could keep on typing šŸ™‚

    Like

  2. I'm SO with you! I've been addicted to watermelon lately, and we finally bought prat of a whole melon last night for the same price as I've been buying the already cut up stuff- got more than double for the same price! šŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Clementines, really good peaches (like the kind you would buy from Clayton, AL), fresh pineapple (I'm from Florida- it's in my blood) and strawberries!!!

    If I can get a good Florida orange (and not these crap ones I find at my local grocery stores in KY), I will be in absolute heaven. I miss Florida oranges…

    Like

  4. I was already hungry but wasnt sure what I wanted. Now I know – the peaches that I peeled yesterday! YUM!

    Kiwis are definitely a favorite of mine. Some that didnt make your list was raspberries and blueberries – we had bushes in the back yard growing up and I was always a huge fan!

    Fruit is definitely underrated by most people!

    Like

  5. Oh, and because I didnt read any of the other comments first… We just discovered this year that there are honeylopes – a combination of honeydew and cantalope. Simply amazing! (I have only seen them as local grown, so I dont know if they are available everywhere or not.)

    Like

Tell me your thoughts! I'd love to read them.

